Year One

I’ve written before about what my wedding was, what it was not, and how I felt during/after it. That’s not what this is. I’ve covered that ground, and now, one year later, all I can do is look back on it with joy and happiness.

We crossed over into the land of Happily Ever After one year ago today. We held hands, pledged lives, and jumped whole-heartedly into marriage together. There have been so many amazing memories this last year.

Saying Goodbye to Minot

It was a town we both hated. B will just now acknowledge that the good that came out of Minot was meeting and marrying me. I can love it for that; but it was a hard town to live in, a hard town to visit. We both celebrated as we ate our last meal at Pizza Hut and hightailed it out of town. Goodbye Minot, hello Germany. Along the way? A few quick goodbyes to B’s family and friends. Lots of laughter and some terrible traffic in Chicago.

Moving to Germany

The chaos. Moving here was crazy, hard, and the best thing that could possibly have happened to us. I almost wish that every newlywed couple could move around the world from everyone they know for their first year of marriage. We’ve been forged so much closer and tighter than I could have imagined, all thanks to moving away. We’ve learned how strong we are together, how much we need each other, and what a great team we make.

Seeing the World

We’ve visited so many places. Bruges, Munich, Texas, Ireland, Stuttgart, Paris, Amsterdam, Bern, Rome, Colorado, Bruges again, and we leave for Croatia on Friday. We may not have had an actual honeymoon yet (in the works, fingers crossed); but we’ve had the privilege to begin our married years in the heart of Europe. All of my life, I’ve wanted to travel. Up until I’d met B, I’d been to Honduras and the Bahamas. I love that I’ve gotten to see the world with the love of my life. It’s been such a gift.

I honestly can’t believe that I’m sitting here on my one year wedding anniversary. As a girl, I daydreamed about my wedding, but rarely about married life. That’s where the daydreams ended – at happily ever after. But real life doesn’t end there. For me, it was only a beginning – not the beginning – but a beginning.

And now? It has begun. The first year has come to a close and with all I’ve learned from it I cannot wait to see what comes next.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Year One

  1. Shiny says:

    Congratulations, love – I adore you two together! I can’t believe it has already been a year!!! give B a hug for me and I hope y’all have an absolutely fabulous time in Croatia!!!!!!!!!!
    Love you!!!!
    M

  2. Stereo says:

    Happy Anniversary, darling. Have the best time in Croatia.

Leave a Reply

