Beat the Heat: Week Seven

It’s amazing how the time is flying now. It’s hard to believe that we don’t have that much time left in this challenge. My work on my goals was sort of set aside this last week. I had a very intensely rough week this last week. I spent most of it in tears. I’m still not sure how everything that happened will work out; but I will persevere. Besides, I have a lot to look forward to this week.

1. What have you done to help you achieve your goals?

Weight Loss 8 of 10 lbs lost. Same as last week here, but I joined myfitnesspal and am trying to be more conscious of what I eat. After last week’s loss I rebounded back up a couple of pounds, so just getting back to where I was is accomplishment enough for me.

Book reading and list making both got put on hold this last week. I started three books and finished none, I wasn’t in the mood to sit and read and be alone with my thoughts. As to the list of things I like about myself, I didn’t like myself this last week. And then, when I started recovering from that, it was my husband’s birthday and so I wrote him a list of 24 things I love about him for his 24th birthday.

I played my instruments more this week, thanks mostly to having a piano again. It’s so awesome. I also tried two “new” recipes this week to put me at 8/5. The first was a reimagining of a cheeseburger for the spinach challenge at The Intrepid Chefs and the second was taking my cheesecake brownies and adding nutella for them as B’s birthday cake request.

2. What have you done to make you feel fabulous?

I bought me some new clothes from Victoria’s Secret. I got a chance to buy their new bra before it was released, found a sale swimsuit, and bought a t-shirt dress in order to get free shipping. The clothes just got here today and I love them all. :)

3. If your house was on fire, and you could grab ONE thing (outside of people and your computer/laptop, they are all out) what would it be?

I couldn’t grab just one thing. I have so many things that mean the world to me. Of things that are irreplaceable though, I’d have to go with either:

My Blue Padre

My grandfather built the frame for this painting. Way back when, he built frames for this painter who lived near him; she paid him for the frames with this painting. When he died, he left this painting to my Mom. It’s been in our house since I was a kid, and I always told her that I wanted it. When I moved into my first big-girl apartment post college, my Mom helped me set it up, and surprised me by giving this to me. It’s moved with me constantly as a little reminder of home.

The other item I would grab is this:

my map of middle earth

Yes, that is a hand drawn, hand inked map of Middle Earth from Lord of the Rings. My Mom has been drawing them for decades. She recently declared that the one she gave my sister for her wedding was the last. I received mine during college and have had many friends threaten to steal it. It hangs in my dining room as a little reminder of my Mom and the importance of always dreaming.

4. Tell us about your blog. Treat it like a book, what’s happened so far?

It’s about a girl who starts off as all things Texas. She’s loud and she’s Texas proud. It’s a little bit chic-lit in the beginning, but follows her through grad school, and work. Then, the main antagonist enters the story and she falls in love, moves, gets married, and moves again. Now, she’s finding her footing as a military wife making her way in a world she never imagined.

5. Fun Question:  Tell an embarrassing story about yourself. No dodging.

Haha, this is an easy one for me. One Sunday in May, when I was 13 years old, my family had a big day. It was our Pastor’s last Sunday complete with short service and fellowship time afterward, followed by my little brother’s birthday party. We were rushed that morning, so I grabbed a banana on my way to the car and then ate 3 donut holes (wow do I miss those things) during Sunday School. As we’re standing in church, front pew on the left side I started to not feel well. In the Presbyterian church, you often stand for the first 10-15 minutes of service, with greetings, hymns, responses, etc. We were singing the Gloria Patri when I started to get really hot. Then I noticed that my vision was going out like a bad tv screen – it got black and fuzzy from the edges and worked it’s way in. Next thing I know, I’ve hit the pew behind me – I can’t see and I can’t respond. Then nothing. My next sensation is of being suspended between my parents and I can hear them talking to me as they move me, though I still can’t see anything. They laid me down on a bench, where I came back to full consciousness. One ER trip later, and we learned that I was hypoglycemic and had just had my blood sugars bottom out on me. Every single person from our church stopped by the ER. 3-4 years later, in highschool, it was still the first thing remembered about me by most of my peers.

I hope everyone has a great week.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Beat the Heat Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beat the Heat: Week Seven

  1. Mary says:

    Sorry to hear you had a tough week emotionally – it’s great that you’re looking forward, though! ♥ And – your salad recipe looked a-mazing, I can’t wait to try it later this week! (My personal goal is to try everyone’s! Maybe not all in one week, but I totally want to make them all.)

  2. myobi says:

    Hehehe…”Glory be to the Father…*thud*”. Definitely a tribute to your dedication to music, with how you timed it. “Must finish phrase, must finish phrase…” I’m joking. I lost count of how many people came by the car to ask how you were and how many times I responded that I didn’t know because you were still in there…obviously. Doh.

    You’re doing so good on the weight loss! Go you! I’m liking the MyFitnessPal thing, though I’m pretty lenient with it compared to other people (I have no problem eating Mom’s enchiladas or baking a cake). It’s all about moderation. :D

    Hope that this week is MUCH better for you. Love ya!

  3. Shiny says:

    I love your blog summary! It must be so neat to look back and remember your life through your own words!!! :-)
    I remember that story – so awesome! I just finished YOSA camp a couple weeks ago and happened to wear my nice black pants to the final concert. I also tuned (while bending over with my butt to the audience) kid’s instruments multiple times during that concert. When I got home and changed, I realized there was a HUGE hole in the buttox region…perfect. :-0
    Love you, miss you!!!!
    <3,
    M

Leave a Reply

