Beat the Heat: Week Six

Hello everyone! How have your weeks been? I hope the answers are all good and mostly good. I’m so excited about the next couple of weeks around here that I can hardly wait for each day to happen. The first few weeks of August are full of some amazing days to celebrate for me and we’re celebrating in style this year. It’s been an up and down week for me as far as the goals go; but I’m optimistic about this next week going even better.

1. What have you done this week to help you achieve your goals?

Goals Update:

Weight Loss – 8 of 10 lbs lost! I’m down another 2 lbs this week. I’m so excited about this. I’m also cracking down even harder as I am 11 days from going on a week long beach vacation. My darling husband also let me order another clearance swimsuit from Victoria’s Secret and I want to look really cute in it. My aim for this week is to make the better choice at each meal and keep better track of my calories in and out.

Books Read – Still at 10 of 20. Something about having my husband come home from a weekend away made me read less this week.

Recipes Tried – Still at 6 of 5. Even though I’m over on this one, I’m going to hopefully keep trying new things. Our eating rotation has gotten so much more interesting since I started this challenge and it’s really helping us eat at home more; which is good for our health and our budget.

Positives about Me list – I haven’t worked on this one much. However, if you check out my post from yesterday you’ll see that I’m working on believing that I’m worth it.

Instruments Played – This one has slacked off over the last few weeks. I’ve been so stressed about finding a new place to teach, replacing our GPS unit, dealing with auto insurance after my wreck (Hooray for accident forgiveness and my rates not going up!), that I haven’t played much. This should change soon. Very soon. Read below to see why!

2. What have you done this week to make you feel fabulous?

I bought a piano yesterday. Okay, technically I just made the offer yesterday. We’re picking it up and paying for it today. It’s nothing fancy – just a Kimball upright, not my dream piano by far (that would cost more than my car did) but it’s my very own piano. I’m also going to use it to start teaching out of my home. I’m so excited to go pick this up today that I have no idea how I’m going to focus on anything else.

3. Do you feel you get everything out of your life? Would you like to change things or are you happy where you are?

I love where I am in life right now. Sure I want to shed a few pounds, sure I want to make a few friends; but overall? My life is so amazing. I have a husband who loves me, we both have flexible schedules that allow us to travel, we live in an amazing place, and have great family and friends.

4. What’s your ultimate favourite food? Is it healthy? Can you make it healthy?

Ultimate favorite for me would encompass everything about Southern comfort food. Chicken Fried Steak, Fried Catfish, Coconut Shrimp, the entree list can go on and on. And yes, I could make these healthier by subbing eggs for egg whites and baking instead of frying. What I prefer to do instead, is make it up real and eat just a small portion. I’d much rather have the real thing in tiny increments than fake it and lose the rich flavors and textures. I also only cook things like this rarely – they’re treat meals.

5. Fun Question: What do you want to be when you grow up?

Exactly who I am. I’m a music teacher and I love my job. I go and play with people’s kids in 30 minute increments and get paid for it. I truly have the best job ever. :)

my new piano!!!!

I can’t wait to start reading everyone’s posts for this week. Hope y’all all have a fabulous week!

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Beat the Heat Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Beat the Heat: Week Six

  1. Becks says:

    Oh gosh you are rocking this challenge! Go you! The weight loss is amazing and OMG Southern Food. *drools*

  2. Mary says:

    Oh yum, coconut shrimp … I agree, some things are best left unaltered and simply enjoyed in moderation. I’d be a little afraid of a lightened up chicken fried steak, to be honest! Great job with the weight loss, you’re kicking so much butt!

  3. I am so in love with the term ‘accident forgiveness’ – far nicer than ‘protected no-claims bonus’ that we have here!

    Enjoy some quality time with your new piano x

  4. Shiny says:

    The piano is gorgeous!!!! J told me that his mid-life crisis will be a grand piano…:-D
    I’m so glad that the insurance worked out and that B is home – hooray!
    Love you,
    M

Leave a Reply

