Beat the Heat: Week Five

Before I even start this week’s update, I’ve got some confessions to make first. I feel like I lost my grounding this past week. It’s been chaotic with me quitting my studio job, our car getting broken into, B having a training camp in Atlanta, and culminating in me hitting a parked car at the Frankfurt Airport this morning. I’m okay, my car is okay, the other car is only minorly damaged (I could tell that the parking attendants and cops were surprised I reported it). The polizei were very nice, the fact that I was clearly on the verge of tears probably helped. Anyway, all that to say, it’s been a hell of a week. I didn’t pay attention to most things at all. That said, I’m blazing into this update the best that I can.

1.       What have you done this week to work towards your goals?

I was down weight earlier in this week but back at the same as last week as of this morning. I think between the stress of the week and then being lonely all weekend probably was not a good combo on my weight. Still, I think it’s just water retention and hopefully I’ll have another loss to report next week. My book reading has gone great – I read5 books this past week for a total of 10 in the challenge. I read 4 of those books on Saturday and Sunday. I’m itching to pick the next up. Didn’t work on my list or play any instruments – didn’t really have the desire to do either. I did try 2 new recipes this last week bringing me to 6 (one over my challenge goal)! I did a brown-sugar and chili powder chicken and Mary’s Baked Zucchini Chips. Both were rather delicious.

2.       What have you done to make yourself feel fabulous?

I went out and bought the new gold crackle nail polish. I’d seen it in Cosmo and decided I had to try it. So glad that I did. I also took Friday off of everything and played with two adorable little girls. Most fun I’ve had in a long while.

3.       How are you finding your goals this challenge? Do you still think you can achieve them?

I know I can achieve them. I have to work for them, but knowing that they’re accomplishable has been key to keeping me pushing through over the last few weeks.

4.       Freebie! If you want to change one goal change it. Explain your decision even if you don’t change any.

The only one I would think about changing is writing my list of things about myself that I like. Except that’s the last one I should be changing. All of my goals still represent important factors in my life right now – so I won’t change any. I still want to lose the weight (confession, I’m MOH in a wedding this fall that will feature all the catty girl’s I went to undergrad with and yes, I want to look better than all of them), I still want to play my instruments, read, cook, and learn to love myself. At least, love the self that isn’t attracting all kinds of horrible occurrences.

5.       Fun Question: If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be? Your funds are unlimited!

As a little girl I would have said New Zealand or Ireland. They’ve always been my two favorite countries. I’ve also always been the girl who loves moving. I love the chance to start over and build up a new home. I’ve made it to Ireland to visit now and I loved it there. But, honestly, I don’t think I’d live anywhere other than where I do right now. I’m in a great place to travel wherever I want, I have a job that I love, I get to meet new people all the time. Germany has been a great match for me. If I can just teach it what a real summer is it would be perfect. Truly though, perhaps the greatest thing I’ve learned thus far in my almost one year of marriage is that the adage “Home is where the heart is” is so true. I’ll be home and happy living wherever B is. Each place is just an undiscovered adventure waiting to happen.

My Positive Picture: Ireland's Beautiful Coastline

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Beat the Heat Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Beat the Heat: Week Five

  1. Becks says:

    ah yes, obviously I understand European summers well. Ireland is gorgeous, such a mix of areas and places.

  2. Jess says:

    That nail polish sounds FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

  3. Mary says:

    Glad you liked the zucchini chips! You had a tough week, but still totally kicked butt on your goals – that’s incredibly inspiring!

  4. Kris says:

    Oh I so want to visit Ireland – my brother moved there (from Canada), my parents are visiting this fall, and all the photos are so beautiful!

    You are doing so well on your goals – good for you!

  5. Shiny says:

    I love how you didn’t change your goals! Sorry I’ve been out of touch – had family visiting for two weeks. :-)
    Love you, miss you!!!!!
    <3,
    M

Leave a Reply

