Beat the Heat: Week Four

It’s been another crazy week here in Germany. The weather has been cold and rainy. It seems like my friendships are falling apart right and left around me. I started last week really strong and watched it implode the further in that I got. Sunday was a pretty miserable day. But, this is a new week and a new day. I’m going to just find my smile, pick myself up, and keep on keeping on.

1.       What have you done this week towards your goals?

I’ve lost another 2.5 lbs to bring me to a total of 6 lbs lost since the start of this challenge. This has probably been the area I’ve rocked the most – I’m being careful with what I eat and how much; but I’m not letting it control me or taking it too far. It’s been amazing to see that I can do this. No new recipes this week, we took a break. I’m still at 5 books read for the challenge. I’ve stalled out a bit on the reading – but since B will be gone this whole weekend, I think I’ll pick it back up. My list of things that I like about myself is still growing. The only one I totally failed at this week was playing my instruments; but the reasons are forthcoming. Hopefully I’ll get back on track with that.

2.       What did you do to make yourself feel fabulous?

A couple of things for this week – first, I didn’t really do it for myself, B did it for me. But he went out and bought me an iPhone 4. I’ve had nothing but phone troubles since we moved to Germany so it’s exciting to know that I have a good, reliable, and fun phone. Not to mention I can blog from the road now! Exciting! The big one though is, I quit teaching at the studio that was my first employment over here. I’ve had nothing but problems with the studio owner from the beginning. I paid for my studio time by teaching her 2 kids for free, but she never respected my hours and would always schedule workshops during my teaching times without clearing it with me first. She did it again this week (I found out on Sunday while I was already in a bad mood) and it was finally too much. I immediately resigned my position there and am now looking for a piano for my apartment so that I can teach from home. It looks like I won’t be losing any students over it either and it’s just a huge weight off of my shoulders.

3.       Do you exercise? What is your favourite kind and why?

I do. I love to work out. I hate the act of going to the gym, but once I’m there I’m a happy camper. Weight lifting has become my new favorite – B runs me through an entire routine and I feel fabulous for having done it. I also love jogging/power walking on a track but we don’t have a good one here so it’s the elliptical for me. I love simple workouts for the pure fact that the repetition and sweat does my body and soul good. I tend to do a lot of thinking while I’m working out and it makes for fabulous me time.

4.       There are loads of fantastic bloggers here in the Beat the Heat competition, which blog or blogs have you discovered through the challenge that you particularly enjoy? Show that person some love!

I have to say, that hands down, the most inspirational blogger that I’ve discovered through this challenge is Mary at asmallloss. She’s real, she’s gritty, and she isn’t afraid to take on everything. Her posts are my favorite to read out of any blogger that I follow right now.

5.       Fun Question: What song makes you want to dance at the moment?

This is where I confess that up until grad school I never listened to the radio. To this day, I only do so when I don’t have my iPod (loaded with classical and instrumental music) with me. All those years of music classes and I still prefer my classical or Irish folk music. I listen to a little bit of country and a lot of whatever B is currently listening to. My newest favorite from his stuff is anything by Van Canto – they’re an acapella metal band and if you haven’t heard of them then you should go look them up.

Positive Picture

B and I all dressed up at his brother's commisioning ceremony.

Hope you all have a great week!

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Beat the Heat: Week Four

  1. Mary says:

    Aw, thank you :) Keep up the great work with the weight loss, it sounds like you have a good sense of balance with it. I’ve never been too into weight lifting, though I want to try more – my arms need toning badly! I agree, though, that workouts are the best “me” time – I think a lot while working out, too, and tend to visualise my problems and worries coming out with the sweat. Work it out, then shower it off. ♥

  2. Cynthia says:

    Acapella metal bands? I am soo googling this when I get home. Great update!

  3. Kris says:

    I’ll echo Cynthia – an Acapella metal band may be the coolest thing I’ve ever heard of! AndI love the dress you’re wearing in your photo – WOW!

  4. Shiny says:

    Hooray for quitting crap jobs! I love how it worked out, too. I admire you for actually enjoying working out. I detest, despise, and loath it. I do like playing sports though. :-)
    Love you, Miss you!!!
    <3,
    M

Leave a Reply

