Beat the Heat: Week Three

Happy Monday my friends! It’s another cold and rainy day here in Germany, so I’m all bundled up on my couch and thinking that the heat is not anything I have to beat right now. This is by far the strangest summer I’ve ever experienced weather-wise, this poor Texan is feeling quite out of place. I’m like a cactus that’s been over-watered and kept in the shade too much.

1.       What have you done this week to work towards your goals?

I’ve lost another 2.5 lbs to put me at a total of 3.5 down for the challenge. I read 2 more books, the last two in the Sharing Knife series by Lois McMaster Bujold and can’t recommend those books enough, for a total of 5 out of 20 read. I’ve stalled out on Phantom of the Opera right now, it was driving me insane and I’ve jumped over to Starship Troopers by Heinlein. I tried 3 new recipes last week and now only need 1 more for the challenge. We made Pizza Rolls, Ham Rolls, and a Honey-Garlic Chicken across this last week. I’m keeping up with my list of things I like about myself and am still playing my instruments as well.

2.       What have you done this week to make you feel fabulous?

I booked our apartment in Pag, Croatia! We leave next month on the 19th and will spend a week in an apartment 300 meters off of the beach. I’m so excited. We’re taking this trip as our 1 year anniversary trip and will be traveling with some good friends. With how cold and rainy it is here, sunny and warm Croatia sounds about perfect right now.

3.       I wrote about gadgets this week (my fav one anyway), do you have any gadgets that help you to your goals or are you a low tech kinda person?

I’m a mid-tech kind of girl. I was raised by a computer programmer who was on the team that helped develop bluetooth so I’ve always been around gadgets. Back in the States, I had an iPhone that I loved to play on and use My Fitness Pal type tools, but, I don’t have any of that here in Germany. I rarely even run with music. I guess I’m more low-tech in regards to exercising, I would rather jog out doors than run on an elliptical, though the weather here doesn’t cooperate with that too much.

4.       We are half way through the year, what have you achieved so far (in all aspects of life)?

My biggest achievement for this year would be keeping up with my travel goal. When B and I first moved here, we promised each other that we would keep taking trips to see as much of Europe as we could while we got to live here. Since January we’ve visited Stuttgart, Ireland, Paris, Amsterdam, Bruges, Rome, and Bern, not to mention our big trip to the US in May and June. A lot of people told us that we’d fall into a routine and forget to travel, but we’re really working hard to make the most of our time here. In addition to the Croatia trip in August, we’re looking at visiting the French Riviera around the holidays, going to see the “fairytale” castles, and maybe hopping a cruise around the Mediterranean.

5.       Fun Question: Tell me one of your secrets to achieving goals and living a happy life?

Being happy with exactly where I am. This is a sort of hard one for me; I tend to be a planner and a dreamer, both of which lead to the tendency to live in the future rather than the now. Since I met B though, I’ve worked really hard to just live in the moment and enjoy being in the here and now. I can honestly say that I’ve achieved that and it’s made a huge impact on my life.

My Positive Picture for the Week: A plate of sushi from a lunch trip with friends!

Sushi!

Hope everyone has a great week!

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Beat the Heat Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Beat the Heat: Week Three

  1. Mary says:

    Awesome job with the weight loss! Honey-garlic chicken sounds super delicious. And I totally understand what you mean about being a planner/dreamer – “tendency to live in the future rather than the now” hit me. Thanks for the food for thought. :)

  2. Kris says:

    Nice loss this week! You are doing so well on making sure you see lots of Europe – I’ve never been, but so want to go once my kids are grown!

    My brother moved to Ireland a few years ago, and he and his girlfriend travel frequently even now, just to explore other countries. Enjoy it while you are there!

    • Before last September, my only trips out of the US had been to Honduras when I was 16 and the Bahamas when I was 18. I’d never lived anywhere but Texas. Marrying a military man totally changed my life and the biggest perk (outside of just him) has been being here in Europe and having all of these traveling opportunities. I refuse to pass up on any chance to see more of Europe.

  3. Becks says:

    hey don’t forget to come to England!! You can come visit me in (not so) sunny Cornwall. Best coast in the country!

    Well done on the 3.5lbs! Keep going :)

    • Thanks so much! An England trip is planned for some point in the future. I have a cousin who lives in Ayelsbury not to mention that I’ve always wanted to go.

  4. Stereo says:

    Keep it up, love! And please make sure you have the best time on your vacation ♥

    • Oh, I will. I’m so excited to go – we just bought the plane tickets today and I’m already yearning to start packing. I’d probably better wait since there’s another month to go…

  5. Pingback: Beat the Heat! | Weight Wars

  6. Shiny says:

    Congrats, K! So exciting to see life being lived so well! I have to say, I absolutely HATE it when someone says crap like, “Oh, you’ll forget to travel.” It truly is crapping on your happiness and excitement because they’re disappointed with their own life. It’s like when my Hubbs told a friend that he was getting married and his friend told him to get ready, because after a year, wives don’t want to have sex anymore. I have to say, it’s been four years and I do enjoy proving that a$$face wrong every day. :-)
    Love you, miss you!!!
    <3,
    M

Leave a Reply

