Recipe Round-up: Nutella Cheesecake

One of my favorite parts about being in the blogosphere are all the recipes that are freely available. I love recipes. I love trying new things, tweaking them, and seeing what I can come up with in return. Until now though, I’ve mostly been a bad blogger by taking lots of recipes and not sharing the ones I like or tweak. I figure I should make amends for this and start sharing my favorite recipes. This week’s recipe is the Nutella Cheesecake that I mentioned trying in my Beat the Heat post.

I found the idea over at The Moonlight Baker where she made layer bars. I couldn’t get my parchment paper to nicely line an 8×8 pan, so I switched over to my 9 inch spring form pan and adapted the recipe accordingly. Also, she uses a chocolate graham cracker crust and wouldn’t you know that that’s the one style of graham cracker’s not carried by the commissaries over here, so I substituted in a oreo cookie crust. But, enough of me rambling, let’s get down to the cheesecake.

Take a 9 inch springform pan, place a sheet of parchment paper on the bottom section (easiest to take apart the pan and then have the paper sticking out around the edges), then spray the pan with Pam. Set aside. Presheat oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit.

Crust

Approximately 1 1/2 cups of  Oreo Cookie Crumbs (I know you can buy these, or just by the cookies, put them in a ziploc bag, and smash them with a hammer)

1/2 stick of unsalted butter melted (you may need slightly more, the cookie crumbs should be moist)

Mix those together and press into the bottom of the pan, place in the oven and bake for 10-12 minutes, remove and set aside to cool.

Cheesecake

3 8oz pkg Cream Cheese

3/4 cups Sugar

3 Eggs

1/4 c Heavy Cream

1 TBS vanilla

Blend all of this together until it is smooth. Spoon 1/2 to 2/3 of this mixture into the crust (it depends on how much of a Nutella section that you want). Take the remaining cheesecake and add 1 TBS Heavy Cream and at least 1/4 c Nutella and blend.(we added about a 1/2 cup – it depends on your preference for Nutella amount. Remember that the Nutella is only one layer of the cheesecake, which makes the flavoring more subtle).

Layer the Nutella mixture on the top. Place in the oven and bake for 45 minutes to an hour – until the center is set but jiggles slightly. When you remove it from the oven, run a knife around the edge of the cheesecake to loosen it from the pan and release the springform pan. Allow to cool completely, then refrigerate for a couple of hours before serving.

nutella, cheesecake, oreo crust - aka heaven

Make it for your next party. Your friends/family/coworkers will thank you. Trust me. We took the above to a dinner with 7 people there and came home with 1 1/2 slices left.

What recipes are you loving this summer? Do you have a favorite sure-fire dessert to take to a party with you?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe Round Up. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recipe Round-up: Nutella Cheesecake

  1. Mary says:

    This looks so good!!! Great job :)

  2. Shiny says:

    I’m not very good at baking, but I should try this… I’m sure the Hubby will love it! <3

Leave a Reply

