Beat the Heat: Week Two

I promise I’m going to do better this week about updating in-between the challenge posts. I have a recipe to post, a revelation to talk about, and I’m sure I’ll throw up some more bad lyrics/poetry since I’m currently on a creative kick.

This last week was interesting for me as I had houseguests that did their best to make me want to throttle them, I had a bad reaction to the German water (something I should really learn that my body is never going to like), but I also had some great times with my husband. Besides, I capped the week off by accidentally showing up at a strip party that our favorite pub was hosting. I only wish I was joking.

Questions of the week

1. What progress have you made on your goals this week.

Goal Recap and Update

1. Lose 10 lbs – down 1.5 lbs

2. Try 5 new recipes – 1 tried

3. List 70 things I like about me – 63 left to go

4. Read 20 books – 3 down, 17 to go

5. Play an instrument 3x a week – check, check, and check!

Let’s see, I lost 1.5 lbs from my highest weight which is awesome, only downside is that my highest weight was actually 4lbs heavier than I thought. It’s okay, I’ve bought a scale and B and I are both committed to dropping some weight. The new recipe will be up soon – I made a nutella cheesecake last Monday for our July 4th bbq. This last week I read Old Man’s War by John Scalzi and the first two volumes of Lois McMaster Bujold’s Sharing Knife series. I’m also about half-way through Phantom of the Opera right now.

2. What did you do to make yourself feel fabulous?

Great question, like I said above, I felt sick for most of the week thanks to accidentally drinking some tap water. So, I went out and bought a water cooler for the Culligan bottled water. These normally run some 200 bucks, but I found one at a yardsale for 40. Water that doesn’t make me sick and a deal? I’m sold!

3. Did you have a moment in your life where everything changed for you, an epiphany moment, or has it happened gradually?

I’m not really sure how I’m supposed to answer this, but I’m going to do my best. As far as being who I am, I have a strong personality and I’ve pretty much always been this way. I never had rebellious teen years (I got those out of the way at 2, yeah, I’m an early bloomer) but that’s really because my parents were never afraid to encourage us to just be who we were, even if that scared them. Thanks to that, even though we’re all really different, we’re all really close – because no one always had to agree with Mom and Dad or think the same things as each other. I’ve always been a musician, always wanted to be a musician.

The big epiphany moment in my life, was meeting B. When we met, I was a few months out of the 2nd relationship in a row that I was cheated on and I’d pretty much decided I was done. I had two really great jobs teaching music and I was on a good track to turn one of them into a full-time with benefits gig. I loved my work, had my friends, and didn’t need anything (or anyone) else in my life. Three weeks after meeting B I knew I wasn’t going to be happy with that status quo anymore. 2.5 months after meeting him I agreed to not renew those precious contracts of mine and to move off to ND where he lived once summer came around.

4. What made you get involved with the Beat the Heat challenge?

I completely bombed the Spring Fling challenge and I’m not used to messing up. So I’ve decided to try again. With a little bit better goals and a more relaxed attitude about it.

5. What’s your favorite TV show at the moment?

Funny question, I haven’t had cable/satellite in any apartment of mine since 2009. That said, B and I do like to buy DVDs of TV series and we’re currently working our way through HIMYM, Dexter, and Community.

Positive Picture:

new dining table that we bought and built this week!

Thanks for stopping by! Let me know you were here and I’ll come visit you too!

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Beat the Heat Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Beat the Heat: Week Two

  1. Mary says:

    Great job with the weight loss! And – Nutella cheesecake?! Oh my goodness. Nutella is such good stuff – definitely something I can’t keep in the house. Though – a local place sells single-serve packets. Might get one for a treat one of these days!

    • Thanks! It’s great to see quick improvements from changing my eating habits.

      I think the best part about living in Europe might be the easy availability of Nutella. My personal favorite way to eat it is drizzled over a sliced banana and wrapped in a hot crepe.

  2. Becks says:

    Nutella isn’t too bad mary, 100 cals per tablespoon…well done on the weight loss countess, I wish I could say the same!

    • Thanks, our shocking revelation on our weight will probably get it’s own post soon. Like I told Mary above – I’m glad that since I came to that realization that the healthy eating has done exactly what it always does. It’d be a bit discouraging otherwise.

  3. Susspa says:

    Glad to hear you had a good week, especially reading three books. I can thoroughly recommend Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein if you haven’t read it! Can’t wait to see the Nutella cheesecake recipe, my girls love Nutella. I’m quite partial to it too :)

    • It’s awesome to find so many Nutella lovers. Now that I know the cheesecake recipe is wanted, I’ll definitely crank it out. :)

      I read Frankenstein in college for my British Lit class; it was probably my favorite book that we read that semester. I alternate reading sci-fi, fantasy, and classics, but I think my next classic will be Bram Stoker’s Dracula since I haven’t read that one.

  4. Jess says:

    Yay on the 1.5lb loss! Also nice dinning room table!!!!

    • Thanks on both accounts! We had the most productive week of our lives (at least in Germany) this last week. The new table (which I love, love, love) is part of that.

  5. Andrea says:

    Great job so far on your goals! Keep it up

  6. munchberry says:

    Nutella cheesecake huh? Lord. I will have to avert my eyes!

    Such a great job with the challenge!

    Did you enjoy Old Man’s War? And are you usually a Sci-fi reader or is this something new or off beat for you?

    • Yeah, it’s posted. It was amazing. And totally a party only dessert. Yum!

      I really enjoyed Old Man’s War – it was thought provoking, funny, and touching by turn. Never got too science-y either. The parts that were science-y were easily skimmable without losing the point of the plot.

      As to the sci-fi, I grew up reading all the Star Wars novels; though I often skipped the parts I didn’t understand. I became a hardcore fantasy reader in junior high and have never lost that kick. My husband is a big sci-fi reader though, and he’s been tossing me the “easy access” sci-fi’s for the last few months. I’ve read Ender’s Game, Dune, Forever War, Glory Road, Heroes Die, and Gateway. So, it’s not totally new, but it’s not my standard either.

      • Hrmm, I should say that Heroe’s Die is not at all easy access. But, it was the first book he gave me to read. Actually, that’s a story that may have to get blogged at some point.

  7. Kris says:

    Oh that cheesecake sounds amazing! Two of my kids love Nutella, but I don;t buy it as my 3rd is allergic – but at 15, he’s more than old enough to know better, so I may have to buy some anyway!

    I like your story about your “B” – my husband proposed when we’d barely been dating a couple of months – it felt far too soon, but I figured I could get out of it if it didn’t work out… we’re married 11 years this year, so I guess it worked out!

    Great job on the goals progress – you’re really working your way down your list. :)

  8. Cynthia says:

    Phantom is one of my favorite books!

    Glad to see you did so well this week. A big CONGRATS on the weight loss!

  9. Shiny says:

    Love the new dining set!!!!

Leave a Reply

