Beat the Heat: Week One

Happy Independence Day!

Weight Wars

I know that I was a horrible Spring Fever Challenge participant; but, I’m going to go ahead and try again. I think my biggest problem last time around was that I was way too ambitious. So my goals are modified this time around to be a bit more doable.

1.       What are your goals for the 10 week challenge?

1. Lose 10 pounds. At a rate of 1lb per week I should be able to make this goal and get back to my normal adult weight.

2. Try 5 new recipes. I’m aiming for one every two weeks now to give myself plenty of time. It’s also my goal to share these recipes this time around.

3. Compile a list of 70 things that I like about myself. It’s pretty much 1-a-day, but a little bit more flexible.

4. Read 20 books. It may seem like a lot, but I’m a fast reader so this should be very doable.

5. Play my guitar, violin, or piano at least 3x a week.

2.       Why did you pick those goals? What makes them important right now?

I picked these goals in part because I think they’re achievable in the allotted time frame of the challenge. And also because they’re representative of directions that I want my life to go. I’m working on getting healthier – losing 10 lbs is my marker for that. My list of 70 things is part of my task of refinding my self-confidence. I love to read but seldom make time for it. Same with the music. I’m making this challenge about finding the best me and reminding myself of how awesome I actually am.

3.       What’s your biggest excuse reason for not doing something and how are you going to stop it getting in the way?

I tend to be a legalist – if I set something, I’m going to follow it…at least until I realize I’m being crazy about it and then I go off the deep end the other way trying to prove that I’m not legalistic about things. So, my drive to not mess up somehow perks up my rebel tendencies and I end up in an internal tug-of-war that causes me to throw my hands up in exasperation, stick my hands over my ears and shout that I can’t hear myself. I’m seeing now if more concrete goals will help me – the things I have picked have plenty of flexibility to allow me to mess up and still accomplish my goals.

4.       Are you a planner or do you go with the flow?

Yes. I am more than capable of going with the flow and doing things on a whim, but if you ask me to do it then I’ll plan everything out to a tee.

5.       Fun thing Tell us something that will help us get to know you.

I thought about this with the Spring Fever challenge, where I told about my whirlwind relationship with my husband. I realized after that I’d have been better off explaining my blog handle – the Texan Countess. First, let me dispel rumors, I am not actually a Countess. There are no actual countesses in Texas, though there are plenty of Jr Miss ______ County’s running around. My maiden name is the name of a county in South Texas. When I went to graduate school, I lived about 30 minutes from that county. As a result some of my guy friends (who were huge nickname nerds) started calling me “County.” I was more than willing to go with the flow of that, until a girlfriend overheard them calling me thus in a bar one night, and mused that it made me sound like a stripper or hooker. Since I am neither stripper or hooker, I told the guys that it was probably inappropriate to keep calling me that. They immediately (as in that very night) started calling me the Countess – because that kept the county part but took into consideration my bossiness. It stuck with me all through my years at Rice. And, since I started this blog while living there, it only seemed fitting.

So there you have it, I am neither a Countess nor a stripper, nor a hooker. Just a girl who’s last name used to reflect a little county in a big state.

my positive image: With my darling B on a train

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Beat the Heat Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Beat the Heat: Week One

  1. Mary says:

    That’s so cool that you play violin! I wish I were more musical. Can’t wait to see your new recipes – I love seeing bloggers share their culinary experiments, gives me ideas for things to make myself! Good luck with the challenge :)

    • Yeah, for the longest time music was the only thing I seemed to be good at. It’s still one of those things that just reaches deep into my soul and makes me so, so happy.

      My only warning about my recipes is that they probably won’t be healthy. It’s sad, but I’m still too much of a southern chef to do anything else. :)

  2. Ooo looking forward to those recipes! Welcome back to Challenge land, glad to have you with us.

  3. munchberry says:

    What a nice mix of goals. 20 books. Sigh. I completely relate to being a legalist. I was going to put something in about practicing my instruments (I know that sounds dirty), but I knew the minute I put a number on it I owuld get to reasoning it away and balking at the requirement. Now I play when I feel like it and that seems to work(ish). I drive myself bonkers! Good luck with the challenge! I look forward to seeing what books you have read and (hopefully) what you thought of them.

    • Thanks, I really am a speed reader, and aside from a light teaching schedule I don’t have much to do this summer. As to the music – I used to practice 6-8 hours a day on just one, now I’m lucky to play outside of teaching and I want that to change.

      I’ll probably try and post at least small reviews of the books I’m delving into – I read an eclectic mix and am planning on trying a lot of different authors out.

  4. Vicki says:

    Love your idea for making a list of things you like about yourself!
    Here’s my first week post

  5. MJ says:

    Fun goals! And a cute story about th countess…I never knew why!

  6. Jess says:

    I too have read more as a goal! Cute positive picture!

  7. Cynthia says:

    Love the Countess story!

    And looking forward to hearing all about the recipes and book you’ll be diving into!

  8. Shiny says:

    One of my favorite things about you is that you never give up. Can’t wait to see how your goals go… I should send you some recipes (they’ll be all pasta ones – it’s what J likes). :-)
    Love you, Miss you!
    <3,
    M

Leave a Reply

