It’s good to be home

Vacations are always nice. Every time I leave, I can’t help thinking that there’s nothing quite nicer than going away for a break. And then I come home again. And I realize that there truly is nothing better than coming home.

Our vacation was full of ups and downs. There were family issues with both events that we went to. There were long days in the car. And then there were get togethers with old friends that lasted hours. B and I had dinner with VJ (his ex). We went to Melting Pot for my birthday. My actual birthday was spent on a plane.

Overall it was a great trip. One that I really don’t want to repeat any time soon. I will be going back to TX for a friend’s wedding in September, but it’s looking like it will be a solo trip for me. By the end I was so sick of hotels and spare beds that I kind of wanted to cry. I wanted my own space. I didn’t sleep well over the entire second half of the trip. I was essentially on the floor in my sister’s room and she kept it really warm in there for sleeping. Not to mention her cat. I was so exhausted by the time we got home.

B’s family had a major meltdown during graduation. It was not particularly fun to get caught up in. We got blamed for some of it due to our having lived together before being married (his parents are very catholic). At that point we just made a quiet exit, sent some silent support to the person ‘in trouble’ and promptly ignored it all. By bedtime that night everyone was acting like mature adults again instead of tired and cranky children.

My family situation is always…interesting. The basic solution seemed to be that my dad’s side of the family just ignored me during the wedding. Other than perfunctory hellos they said nothing to me. At all. I found out from a friend that is also friends with my cousins that there was a get-together post wedding at one cousin’s house. The friend told me because she wanted to know why I hadn’t come. She was shocked that I wasn’t invited. I wasn’t remotely surprised. I did have one cousin tell me that she was “angry” that B wasn’t there so she could meet him. The same cousin who “couldn’t get time off” to visit with us at Christmas, even though she took the time off at the exact same time to go visit her sister. I’m pretty much writing off that side of the family.

On the up-side, my oldest sister, whom I haven’t seen since 2003 came to the wedding and we had a fabulous time together. We spent a lot of time laughing and getting things done. I’m so, so glad that she was there. And, I think I’ve found where I want to have my wedding ceremony, that one may get it’s own post though, so I’m sitting on the info for awhile.

Probably the biggest highlight of the trip is that Team USA won their competition! B and his teammates tied Uruguay and stomped Guatemala to advance to the Pan-American games in October in Guadelajara. So we have 6 more months of reprieve from real life. Maybe we can actually take our honeymoon before he goes back to work…

The two things I missed the most while we were gone were our friends over here and the gym. We see our friends 3-5 times a week between midweek dinners and weekend events. As to the gym, besides two days of swimming laps in a hotel pool, I did not work out at all while we were gone. I felt so gross. We were too tired yesterday to work out, so we hit the gym up in a major way today. 45 minutes of weight lifting, 300 crunches, and 30 minutes of cardio. I feel so amazing right now, tired, but healthy. And we’re meeting up with friends tonight for dinner, so it’s a win all around.

I missed blogging too, I had to steal time to read any blogs so it will be nice to get back to commenting as well as writing my own posts.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Germany, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s good to be home

  1. Stereo says:

    Wow. Sometimes vacations really can be more exhausting than staying home, can’t they?! I am glad that you had a good time despite family drama (family: can’t live without them but can’t hurt them either!)

    I hope that you settle back home soon and that you’re back doing the things you missed before you know it – although it looks like you already are!

  2. Shiny says:

    I can’t tell you how amazing it was to hang out – even for the couple of hours!!! I just wish we all could have sailed away from the drama and just chilled out together (video games, CTW, Cheddars…sigh) – we’ll just need to come see y’all! Then you wont have all the crazy drama and the “I’m more important than you” obligations that family always seems to strap us all with. Love you, K.
    <3,
    M

Leave a Reply

