Vacay Update

I’m writing to you from not-so-sunny Denver. Seriously. It decided to be cold and kind of rainy here, though I’ve still managed to burn my nose in spite of that. It is so great to be back in the USofA.

B’s brothers both graduated quite nicely earlier this week. It was really funny/sweet. His brother’s Things One and Two were both graduating from USAFA and chose to commission together. So, they called “Cadet 1st Class Thing One commissioned by 2nd LT B, and then Cadet 1st Class Thing Two commissioned by 2nd LT B and the whole crowd of 500ish went nuts. They had no idea that they’d have three brothers, all USAFA grads, all AF in one ceremony. It was really awesome to be a part of. I couldn’t have been prouder than watching B give Things One and Two their Oath of Office.

The graduation ceremony was long. 40 squads of cadets, called up one at a time to salute and shake hands with two different people. But, USAFA has the idea right, they ended graduation with a Thunderbirds show. That was seriously one of the coolest things that I have ever seen.

We got into Denver yesterday. We’re one Rockies game and one pool party in to our great vacation. We’ve hit so many malls that it isn’t even funny. ;) Tomorrow is supposed to be a theme park or brewery (depending on weather), trampoline park, dinner, and Dave and Busters. There are no plans after this.

Tonight we’re celebrating my birthday early since we’ll be on a plane for all of it. But we’re also celebrating B getting promoted. He is now officially 1stLT B. I couldn’t be prouder. I’m going to duck out and get ready to go to dinner with my amazing husband.

I hope you are all doing well!

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Vacay Update

  1. Mary says:

    It’s been cold and rainy in Chicago, too – not fun! And tough on morale. Enjoy the brewery if you end up doing that – I did a brewery tour in St. Louis, MO, a couple months ago and it was really cool – not to mention delicious, between the great beers and the yeasty smell that made the whole place smell like yummy hot bread!

  2. Shiny says:

    Yay, USofA!!!!!!!!! So excited for you and B – I hope your vacay is incredibly awesome, refreshing, and rejuvenating!
    That is so cool about Things 1 and 2 – what a sight to see. :-)
    Looking forward to seeing you soon!!!!! And Happy early Birthday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Love you, Miss you.
    <3,
    M

  3. MJ says:

    Glad to hear from you again! Congrats to B and I hope you keep enjoying your time stateside! Happy upcoming birthday!

Leave a Reply

