This Life We Lead

I was supposed to be booking my honeymoon right now. That one I never got to take because my life was turned into a whirlwind fairytale by the military. We were dead sure we were going to get to book it.

Let’s back up to December. B was an alternate for Team USA’s Pan-Am qualifiers versus Canada. This meant that we couldn’t make holiday travel plans until after the games so that we could make sure he’d be there. They lost. And then decided to go for the Second Chance Tournament (SCT) which was supposed to be sometime in late March.

With his brother’s commissioning in May and my sister getting married in early June, we were left with a week of down time. A week that we decided to spend on our honeymoon. But, we had to wait for the tournament roster to come out first. And then, March turned to April, to May, to June. The exact weekend of my sister’s wedding actually. So, we had to wait for that roster. For B to be an alternate so that we could book the honeymoon and make our plans. We knew he’d be an alternate. He was in December and they were taking less guys.

The roster came out today. My amazing husband made the team. I’m so incredibly proud of him. I’ll cheer him on even as he’s in Guatemala wearing USA’s colors and I’m in Texas wearing my sister’s colors.

The honeymoon is once again postponed and all our travel dates are completely up in the air. But I could’t be more proud of my husband.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to This Life We Lead

  1. MJ says:

    Congrats to B! And congrats to you too for being such a trooper! Living so last minute would drive me nuts, but you’re right, it is the life you lead and it’s all in what you get used to anyway!

  2. Stereo says:

    Congratulations B! Huge news! So sorry that your honeymoon will be postponed but I’m sure that whenever you take it, it’ll be fabulous ♥

    • He’s now promising me a Mediterranean cruise later this Fall as a consolation prize. I think I can handle that, but nothing is official right now.

      And thanks! I’m so proud of him that it cuts the sting of cancelling our honeymoon again a lot. It’s hard to be sad about that when your husband gets to play for Team USA in a major competition.

  3. Shiny says:

    Wow, K. Tell B Congrats for us in SA, but wow! You are handling this so beautifully, with such grace. Proverbs 21 wife all the way. :-) B is a lucky man (with very good taste in women!). One saying comes to mind that my Grandfather always said: “Hunger’s the best sauce.” When that honeymoon finally happens… Lookout!
    Love you, Miss you!!!!!
    <3,
    M

Leave a Reply

