Spring Fever Challenge: Week 5

Life's Journey with a Smile

 What have you done this past week to help you achieve your goals?

1. Hit the gym Workout 4-5 times a week

Finally made it there. Every time. Along with my goal of lifting 3 times. I feel so great about this, especially since I did it around my husband being TDY in Spain all week. Which meant I had no one to actually drag me up to the gym. Now I just have to rebalance and start adding my cardio back in.

2. Healthy Eating

Again, I’m getting there. Fruit intake is back up, veggies are creeping their way back up too. I’m doing much better at drinking water, milk, and oj instead of sodas.

3. Something Positive

I actually fell off-track with this one this week. With B in Spain and our communication limited I didn’t get to talk to him about my positives each day. I was lucky to get to talk to him at all. And I didn’t write them down. I kind of took the week off in that regard and wallowed in being melancholy and lonely without my husband.

4. Self-Image

I had a huge victory here with this one. If you read here, you’ll see I talk about weighing myself for the first time in a month and finding that I’ve gone up 4lbs. It doesn’t bother me at all. Because, I like what I see in the mirror – I’m still sitting right on the small end of  an 8 and I’m so happy here.

5. Adventurous eating

I went to a new restaurant with friends this week. And I tried something new (and very different for me) on the menu of a favorite restaurant. I’m counting these as little victories, because, again, with B gone I was just hanging on.

What did you do this past week to make you feel good about yourself?

I had a girl’s day on Wednesday and just reveled in being out. I also gave myself a great at-home pedi on Friday. And I allowed myself to wallow in B being gone. Didn’t try to deny my own feelings, just felt them.

It’s May! What were your victories in April? Challenges?

Victories really were how far I’ve come with my self-esteem and staying positive with things. Compared to where I was at the beginning of this challenge, I feel more like my old self. Kendra pre-Germany and pre-hormonal birth control. Mind over matter is proving to be quite an awesome thing for me.

Do you have any plans for the challenge in May?

I’m going to really step up the healthy/adventurous eating section. If all goes well, *fingers crossed* we get to book our honeymoon on Tuesday. Doing that means I’ll be going on a cruise ship with my bikini. So, I do want to keep everything going in the right direction. This isn’t so much about having an end goal as much as implementing changes that will reverbate for the rest of my life. Otherwise, I’m just going to keep on keeping on.

Fun Question: What is your favourite type of ethnic cuisine?

Chinese food. It can’t be beat in my opinion. My parents had really good friends who owned a Chinese restaurant and he (1st generation immigrant with his parents) taught us all how to cook Chineses. There’s a picture of the owner’s wife walking me around the restaurant at 6-ish weeks old because I was crying and she wanted my parents to have a peaceful dinner. This love of Asian cuisine extends to Sushi. And yes, I’m one of those people who can eat with chopsticks. I hate using a fork for Chinese food.

Positive Picture:

view of St Peter's Square from the Cupola - 551 stairs up

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Spring Fever Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Fever Challenge: Week 5

  1. Well done ! Feels great exercising regularly doesn’t it? Have a great May!

  2. Shiny says:

    LOVE to hear how you are doing, K! I am so glad that life has all the color it should. This makes me praise the Lord for His blessings and mercy!
    Love you, Miss you!
    <3,
    M

Leave a Reply

