Spring Fever Challenge: Week 4

Welcome to another fabulous Monday! Mine started off way too early to take B off to the airport. I’m home alone and working all week while he is, ahem, “working” in Madrid. Sometimes being the wife of a WCAP/Olympic Athlete is unfair. Him getting to go train in Madrid for a week is one of those times. Still, I’m determined that this will be a good week.

Life's Journey with a Smile 

What have you done this past week to help you achieve your goals?

 1. Hit the gym Workout 4-5 times a week

Only made it to the gym 2x last week. I got sick which really didn’t help and my schedule seemed extra hectic. Hopefully with B gone this week I’ll actually make it my goal amounts.

2. Healthy Eating

I’ve been doing pretty good with getting in more water and limiting the soda intake. And the veggie/fruit intake definitely bounced back this last week. Now to keep building on success. :)

3. Something Positive

It’s been really great getting to share my daily positives with B. And since I’ve started focusing on the good things, however frivolous they are, I’ve noticed that I have a much better attitude then I did before.

4. Self-Image

This one is actually turning out easier than I had originally anticipated. I tend to be very down on myself, but, stopping the negatives has actually been really nice. It’s nice to glimpse myself in the mirror and think happy thoughts instead of downer ones. B has taken full advantage of knowing about this goal and been laying the compliments down right and left.

5. Adventurous eating

Still sitting at 1/10 for my recipes. But my MIL has sent me some new ones that I’m pretty excited to try. And we’re having a dinner party/movie marathon very soon where I’ll be taking a bunch of new finger food recipes. I’m pretty stoked about this one. The other eating fun news is that we’ve solidified a great group for dinner parties. Our size fluctuates depending on who is on leave, who is deployed/tdy and who is around, but we’re taking turns with hosting and having a blast. B and I were the hosts this last Friday and we served Coconut Shrimp with Apricot Horseradish sauce. One of our friends was my 4th convert to coconut shrimp loving with this recipe.

What did you do this past week to make you feel good about yourself?

A couple of things this week. I bought a full-length mirror for my bedroom. We only have little half-mirrors in our two bathrooms, so I’ve been having to catch my reflection in a darkened window to decide on outfits for the past several months (like, 6-7). I finally decided enough was enough and went and got a mirror. I’m so glad that I did. It’s so nice to be able to see my outfits and realize that I actually look really good in them. The dinner party was actually my other thing. I love having people come over and eat my food. I like cooking and hostessing. Maybe that makes me outdated and old-fashioned, but I don’t care.
Fill in the blanks:
_Music, teaching, speed reading, and talking_ come naturally to me.
_Being graceful_does not come naturally to me.
I wish _making friends easily_ came naturally to me.

 Fun Question:  What is your favourite Easter candy? Are you allowing yourself some this year?

I don’t have a favorite. I’m very strange. Because as much as I like cooking/baking things, I’m actually not a big dessert or sweets person. Savory foods are definitely my weakness. We have two chocolate bunnies that B’s mom left with us for Easter that are probably going to get thrown away. I still have candy from Christmas that we haven’t even touched. Now, there are some little German black-forest chocolates that I adore, but I still only eat one a week at max.

Hope everyone has a great week!

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Spring Fever Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Fever Challenge: Week 4

  1. Faith says:

    I used to drink nothing but soda. Seriously, nothing…for years. Now I drink only water unless we go to a restaurant. Then I’ll have a soda. I love Code Red but since restaurants don’t sell that, I usually have a Dr. Pepper.

    Here’s my SFC Update

  2. Shiny says:

    YAY!!!!!!! So excited that you are getting to host dinner parties! And I’m definately jealous…I miss your coconut shrimp SOOOOO much!!!!!
    I hope this week without the Hubbs goes well – Skype if you feel like talking (from one long distance survivor to another).
    I’ve been meaning to get you my fast easy recipes! I’ll get them to you asap!
    Love You, Miss You!!!!!
    <3,
    M

Leave a Reply

