Spring Fever Challenge: Week 3

I think I’m off in my count somewhere. Probably because I didn’t count the kickoff as week one. Oh well, I’m going to stick with the numbers that everyone else is putting up. Counting has never been my strong suit. I don’t care how many times you tell me that math and music are related, that only goes so far in my head.

Life's Journey with a Smile

My Goals:

1. Hit the gym Workout 4-5 times a week

2. Healthy Eating

3. Something Positive

4. Self-Image

5. Adventurous eating

1. What have you done this past week to help you achieve your goals?

Let’s see – I walked all over Rome, seriously people we were walking 4-5 miles a day, it was awesome. I climbed 551 steps to the top of St. Peter’s Basilica, ultimate stair-stepper. I actually did hit the gym once I got home for a weight session to get me ready for this week.

For my healthy eating, I stayed super concious of portion size and gave my husband lots of bites of my food – but I relaxed about the rest because I was on vacation and wanted to enjoy my gelato, thanks kindly.

The food in Rome did turn me into a more adventurous eater – I’m a hamburger and fries kind of girl so spending a whole week eating pizza and pasta was a huge change, I had an amazing seafood risotto that I’m going to have to figure out how to duplicate. So, no recipe this week, but I’m still 1/10 and I have plans for a new recipe this week.

As far as my something positives, the habit has changed from writing them down to sharing them with my husband each night before bed. It’s pretty awesome as we both list off the things that were positive about our day. I like the ritual of it.

For my self-image one, I actually went out the other night and felt like the hottest girl in the bar. Just writing that is an amazing step for me.
2. What did you do this past week to make you feel good about yourself?

I got my hair cut! I’ve been growing it out ever since I met B (Thanksgiving 09) and this is the first real hair-cut I’ve had since. It’s still shoulder length, but it’s much shorter than it was and I love it!
3. Are your SFC goals your ultimate goals or steps to your ultimate goals?  Do you find it easier to set big goals or do you like making mini-goals?

Steps along a path. Life is a journey, so some of my ultimate goals are so shrouded in the future that I don’t even know what they are yet. They’re all working together though. I’m on a quest to get healthier. I’m one of those girl-next-door types who sits at a size 8-10 without trying. So now I’m trying and I’m creeping my way down to a 6, but mostly this is about feeling good and being able to do things like climb to the top of the Basilica without getting exhausted.

I prefer smaller, more acheivable goals. I have grand plans in my head, so breaking them down to a manageable size is always a good thing.
4. What are some of your ultimate goals, things on your bucket list?

It’s funny, because, before this year I would have said make it to Europe to travel. And here I am. Living in Germany, traveling all over Europe. I guess that means that I need some new ultimate goals. Right now my big goal is getting to throw a vow-renewal ceremony/reception for B and I before our 5th anniversary.
Fun Question: If you could achieve only one more thing in your life, what would it be?

This one is hard. I want to continue making my husband happy for the rest of his life. Be there to support him, laugh with him, cry with him, celebrate with him and struggle with him for forever. We have our own little family of two now and I love it and want to nurture it.

us after climbing 551 steps up and 551 steps back down

 Hope you have a great week!

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Spring Fever Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Spring Fever Challenge: Week 3

  1. Jeniffer says:

    Walking all over Rome sounds amazing! What an awesome week you have had with your goals!

  2. Jessica says:

    Loved your last achievement!

  3. MJ says:

    Italy accounts for half of my international travel experience and it was definitely a work out and a culinary treat! Glad you had a good time and kept up with your goals. Love the new night time ritual!

  4. faith says:

    Your answer to #5 is awesome!!

  5. Jess says:

    Yay for feeling like the hottest girl in the BAR! YAHOO!! And double yay for the new hair cut!!

  6. Carissa says:

    Wow! your week sounds amazing!! We want to have a vow renewal/ceremony for our 5th anniversary year sometime. But we’ll see! We want it to be a huge celebration with us! I love your answer for #5!

  7. Ahhh Rome is so beautiful you lucky thing. We are doing the renewal thing in Vegas with Elvis on our 10 year anniversary lol.

  8. Getting your haircut is such a good feel-good thing to do!!

    Rome – JEALOUS!!!!

  9. ellie says:

    A countess that can’t count? Hm…

    I love the idea of sharing your goals with your husband!

Leave a Reply

