Spring Fever Challenge: Kick Off

Life's Journey with a Smile

Right after I got back from Texas after the holidays, I noticed that my friend MJ over at The Next Moment was participating in an awesome Winter challenge. I wasn’t smart or brave enough to go jump in on the challenge but when she mentioned that Amy was hosting a Spring Challenge, I knew that I’d be participating. I like having reasons to blog, it makes me more regular, kind of like good fiber intake. ;) We’re setting goals, doing something just for ourselves once a week, and sharing positive pictures, in addition to answering fun weekly questions. I’m pretty pumped about kicking off the Spring in a new and fun way.

I’ll be posting the updates pretty much every Monday, though I may have issues with linking in on weeks that I’m traveling…like next week, but we’ll see.

What are your goals for the Spring Fever Challenge?

1. Hit the gym 4-5 times a week. I’ve just started weight lifting this last weekend, so right now my plan is to lift and do cardio on Mondays/Wednesdays/Fridays and do just cardio on Tuesdays/Thursdays. I do a daily ab routine too, so I’m going to keep that one going as well.

2. Healthy eating. I’ve been working for most of this year to incorporate healthier eating into my diet. For this challenge, I want to get at least 2 servings of fruit and veggies a day. That may not seem like a lot, but for me, it’s definitely building in the right direction. I’m also going to try to drink more water and less soda, I’m down to only 1 coke zero a day during the week, so now it’s about getting my weekends more on track with that.

3. Something positive. I want to write down 3-5 positive things every day. I have found it way to easy to get down about being far away from my friends and family that I forget how amazing it is to be living where I am. So, even if the only good thing I can say is that it was sunny outside today, then I want to say it – I want to start looking for the bright side more and the negative less.

4. Self-Image. This one may be the hardest one for me. I am incredibly self-critical. I bash myself to myself and to my husband. I want to stop. Now. So for the duration of this challenge, I’m not allowed to deflect compliments, I’m not allowed to criticize myself, I’m not allowed to rag on myself for anything. I want to write down at least one thing I like about myself every day too.

5. Adventurous eating. I want to try 10 new recipes over this challenge. I’m going with 10 because I already know that I’m going to be spending a couple of weeks on vacation and I won’t be able to cook. But, yeah, I want to get out of the cooking rut that I’ve fallen into.

Why did you choose them?

I chose these goals for a couple of reasons. The healthy eating/working out goals were chosen to help me make my goal size of a 6 by the commissioning ceremony this May. Originally we were supposed to be taking our honeymoon that week (finally, only 9 months late) but it looks like that won’t be getting to happen thanks to B’s work schedule. Still, I’m right at the small size of an 8 right now and I want to finish transitioning into a 6. I was going to make this a weight-loss goal to get down to 150 lbs, but, since I’m starting weight lifting, I know that I may not see any changes on the scale, so as long as my inches drop, I’m okay with that.

For the positive outlook on life and myself, I’ve been in a funk ever since moving here last September. I’ve been lonely but I’ve started to wallow in it and I want to climb out of it. My hope is that by writing out some positive things and not bashing myself that I can remind my mind that it likes to be happy.

The recipe idea is because B and I have been working really hard to cut down how much we eat out. And, part of the success of that depends on us actually meal planning, but I get bored easily, so new recipes are a must.

What is your plan of action to make them happen?

The workout and eating plans are the easy ones – I have a husband who is a work-out fiend that makes sure I get to the gym every day during the week or that I make it up on the weekend if I skip a day. I already know that 11-15 April will be a fail in terms of going to the gym, because I’ll be in Rome, but, we’ll be doing a lot of walking, so I’m going to be counting that.

As to the positive outlook stuff, I’m going to keep a document open on my desktop and make writing in it a part of my nightly ritual.

What does this challenge mean to you?

It’s a chance to focus my energy and direct my craziness. I can be all over the place, so this gives me some accountability for making my goals actually happen. I’m all about being the best me possible right now and I see this challenge as being a good vehicle for that.
Fun Question of the Week: Let’s  get to know each other! What is something most people (er… fellow bloggers) don’t know about you?

This would have been easier to post if I hadn’t just done a 10 facts about me the other day. Still, I’m going to pretend that I’m reaching a whole new audience now thanks to SFC, so, I’ll go with:

I met my husband, B, out dancing at a country-western dancehall/bar. Neither one of us was looking for anything serious – I’d had nothin but disaster relationships and he’d just ended a long distance, long term relationship. We were looking for a few weeks of fun while he was in town for some training. We spent 3 weeks dating and then decided to do long distance. It worked. We met in Nov 09, got engaged 7 Aug 10, got married 17 Aug 10, and have been happily married ever since. We also haven’t had a wedding yet, the good ole USAF is doing their best to keep us from having one…

Positive Picture:

Dingle Peninsula, Ireland - Living a dream

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Spring Fever Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Spring Fever Challenge: Kick Off

  1. jessie says:

    Great goals! I really like your Adventurous eating goal. Good luck!

  2. Really Great Goals! Can’t wait to see how you get on.

  3. MJ says:

    Very cool goals. Glad you’re playing along this time around!

  4. Cheryl says:

    Love your goals! I especially love the ‘positive things’ one – it’s a good reminder to be thankful for the little things in life!

    Looking forward to following your journey!

  5. Randa says:

    Great goals! I especially like the goal of writing down something positive everyday. May have to steal that one day. ;0] Good luck!

  6. Carissa says:

    Welcome to the challenge! Great goals! look forward to following you as you complete them!

  7. Aimee says:

    I found you from SFC and I am going to start following you as you seem tyo have a pretty interesting life

    I like a lot of your goals. I especially like the adventurous eating one because that is one I havent really seen on too many blogs. I too am trying to work on my personal growth (including self confidence and not being so hard on myself).

    I hear you on finding it hard to exercise while traveling. Im training for 5Ks and 10Ks (with an eventual goal of running a half marathon). I travel sometimes for work and April is going to be ridiculous so I am hoping I am able to train while im traveling.

    I love your story on how you met your husband :)

  8. Wow – I absolute love your goals, and the way you’ve formatted them! I recently started a “Things that Make me Feel Good Today” list and it’s really helped me stay positive!!

    Best of luck to you :)

  9. Jess says:

    Welcome to the challenge!!! So glad you joined up! Great goals!

  10. Holly says:

    I LOVE goal #3! It’s so important to focus on the positive things in life, even if it’s hard to do and it doesn’t seem like there are any at the time. I’m looking forward to hearing about your progress on all of these goals. Good luck and have fun! :)

  11. Mary says:

    I like your goal about adventurous eating! I did a challenge last fall and one of my goals was to try one new recipe a week, and I liked it so much that now it’s something I’ve kept up – I post new recipes every Sunday, and I’m always looking for new stuff to make, so I’ll be on the lookout for your new foods!

Leave a Reply

