Dialing it Back

On Tuesday, I ran 4 miles in 44 minutes on a hybrid stair-stepper/elliptical cross-trainer. It was exhausting. It was exhilirating. It was a bad idea. In one move I had upped the resistance, incline, speed, and distance of my runs.

I paid for it on Wednesday.

I could barely walk. Stairs were an impossibility. About all I could manage was to sit with my knee propped up on a pillow in front of me. Even trying to sleep that night was painful. Everytime I turned over I would whimper because of my knee. I rested on Wednesday and on Thursday.

That made today my first day back. Top of my to-do list at the gym was to go do some leg exercises meant to help prevent knee injuries. B took a quick minute to show me around the selectorized weights, because, lets face it, I don’t need any more encouragement to jump the gun and hurt myself. I did three repetitions of 10 on two different machines working my quads, glutes, and hamstrings. I worked at 30, 40, and 50 pounds. It was tough but doable. And my goal is to blend this in before my runs 2-3 days a week.

After my weight routine, wimpy though it may be right now, I went upstairs and stretched before hopping on the plain-Jane elliptical. My favorite machine at the gym is the Precor Cross-Ramp. It lets you target your muscle groups based on incline level, it lets you set your resistance level, and it burns calories like nobody’s business. The motion on it is closer to a stair-master’s up and down then the expected glide of the elliptical. So, in spite of the awe inspiring calorie burning available on it, I’m steering clear until my knees are better. Instead I hoped on the good old reliable elliptical and started walking.

Yeah, the girl who’s been pushing her half-mile intervals from 10:10 to 9:50 to 9:22 to 9:05 all without ever slowing down or taking a breather…walked a 14 minute mile today. It’s hard to express how frustrating that was. Or how upset it made me to only last 1.5 miles before my knee suggested that I’d be better off stopping. I’m going to listen to my body, no matter how much it irritates me. I do have a trip to Rome in 10 days and that will involve a lot of walking, I’m not about to be limping around for it. But, yeah, I hate feeling like I’ve been sent back to Go…without getting to collect my 200 dollars. So, for however long it takes, I’m going to be the girl who looks like she’s phoning it in at the gym. I’m really giving my all, it’s just that, my knee can’t take much right now.

I’m dialing it back and hoping to build it all back up again.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Operation Bikini Body. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dialing it Back

  1. MJ says:

    Glad to hear you’re getting back to it. I know it’s frustrating, but you’ll get back to where you want to be sooner rather than later if you keep listening to your body. Strengthening your muscles to avoid future injuries is such a great idea!

    • Your encouragement means so much to me right now. Knowing that you’ve been there and gotten through tells me that I can make it through this.

      I’ve decided that I’m going to add a full weight-lifting program to my workout routine. B is helping me set it up – the goal is to tone and not bulk up. I’m pretty excited.

  2. Shiny says:

    Hey girl – I injured both my knees during my “get-in-shape-push-myself-to-the-limit” days (they are still bad) and all I can suggest is using your own body weight to strength train and do swimming for cardio (also works muscles), that way you’re not putting strain on your joints and you’ll naturally develop long, lean muscles. Don’t loose hope!!! (Sorry for the advice instead of empathy and encouragement – I just wish someone had told me that instead of me listening to my trainer and getting two knee injuries and a shoulder injury that are already developing arthritis at 26.)
    Love you, Miss you!
    <3,
    M

Leave a Reply

