Survey Says!

1. How did your parents decide on your name?
 
My Mom was about 3 months pregnant with me and watching the 1985 Super Bowl. She started playing around with the last name of a couple of the Chicago Bears players and came up with Kendra. She honestly thought that she’d made it up – until she took me to my 8 week check up and there were 5-6 other Kendra’s on the Dr’s list. Still, I’ve only personally met two other Kendra’s in my entire life. My middle name is Ann after one of my grandmother’s.
(Note, a lot of you have been calling me K on here, but I’ve realized that 90% of the people who read my blog know my real name, so, yeah, no point in hiding it anymore.I’ve gone back and forth on this several times, but, like I’ve said, most of you already know it and there’s no harm in it really.)
 
2. Do your initials (first/middle/last) spell anything funny?

My maiden initails spelled KAW and my married initials spell KAD. So not really, though I love that I was such an alphabet climber. College showed me how horrible it was to be an end of the alphabet name – so ascending the ranks as far as I did – from W to D – is like being a last name commoner and marrying into royalty. ;)

3. Did you take your middle name from childhood or did you drop your middle name and; take your maiden name as your middle name? (Or if unmarried, what do you plan to do?)

I took on B’s last name and kept my middle name. I know that this is an intensely personal issue, and have spent 2+ hours embroiled inand a discussion about it, but for me, the most important thing was to be a singular unit with my husband. I am proud to be Mrs. D. And I’m the only one in his family right now with that title as his Mom hyphenated. When it came to keeping my middle name or using my maiden name there, that was never really a tough choice. I’m named for one of my grandmother’s and I like keeping that part of my identity over clinging to my old last name. Not to mention that as a Kendra Ann, I’m about as Southern as you can get.

4. Are you or will you name your children systematically? (ie, same first letter, same origin, etc)

Not a lot is decided on kids right now besides the fact that we are waiting at least 5 years. We want time to be a young married couple and to decide if B is staying AD or not first. However, we probably won’t. B is a Jr, so we’re probably going to continue the tradition with our first son, but I’m not hugely fond of most girl’s names starting with a B.

5. Did you decide on baby names as a little girl? Did you stick to them or change your mind?

Heck yes. I have lots and lots of names that I’ve chosen. Some of which are still with me. Most have changed, though  there are a few that have stuck around.

6. Does your family have any names that have been passed down through generations?
Yep, on both sides of our family. Like I said, B is a JR and my little brother is a 4th. My oldest sister has one grandmother’s middle name, I have the other grandmother’s first name as a middle name, and our middle sister has our Mom’s middle name. I like that connection from one generation to the next.
7. Do you look at the meaning of the name or just the name itself?
Depends on how much I like the name. I certainly wasn’t named Kendra because it meant wise woman or daugther of the Sun. I was named it because my Mom thought it sounded good.
8. Do you name pets with human names or pet names?
Pet names. All of our family pets have had fun names – we’ve had three Shelties named – Cody (closest to human ever), Cello, and Cookie; we’ve had three Pekingnese’s named – Wolfgang, Mushu (yes after Mulan), and Yuki (Japanese for snow); a mutt named Kaya (from Willow), an Australian Shepherd named Bear, and a horse named Nicholas (okay, this one would win, but Nick came to us already named.). We’ve had too many cats to list off individually by name, but they’ve all had cat names.
9. Are their any names that you have an affinity or dislike for based on a childhood experience/someone you once knew?
Not really. We certainly won’t use any of our exes names for kids (how awkward would that be?) but other than that, I can’t imagine not choosing a name just because I knew and disliked someone with that name.
10. What are some of your favorite names and why?
 
I like fun names. Everyone in my family has a cool and different name. We’re not your Sarahs, Joes, and Amandas. We stand out in a list of names. Most of the names that I like have a vaguely Celtic influence to them. Which works brilliantly with my Irish sounding last name. Another good move on my part. Probably my favorite name that I won’t use is McKenzie for a variety of reasons, first is that it’s no longer a unique name and second is because it’s a little too close to my sister’s soon-to-be last name. But we’ll see, I won’t rule anything out.
 
Now it’s your turn to play along!
 
~The Countess~
About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Survey Says!

  1. myobi says:

    Officially Named Cats (that I remember off the top of my head):
    Foxfire, Pippin, Mana, Wookie, Dulcie, Pete, Smokey, Blackie, Ghost (omg worst name ever, poor kitten, I doomed it), Apache, Spook, Taffy (the orange and white fluffy female), Kayim, Hevel, Misty, Stormy, Ditcot, & Dotcot

    There were additional cats that I named from the year that Stormy was all “lolz, you missed me on the fixing round, so I’m going to have 3 litters of 11 kittens each)” but since they were mostly adopted off, I guess they don’t count. There’s also your little black cat that I called Fangz, but I don’t remember her official name. ^_^; I also did not include the cats whose lives were tragically cut short by the poisoning of whatever year that was. =(

    Also, don’t forget Mr. Stickywick (aka Houdini), the amazing escape-artist African Pygmy Hedgehog!

  2. Shiny says:

    Love having this insight into your worldview! :-)
    Love you! Miss you!
    <3,
    M

Leave a Reply

