The Bonds of Friendship

Blest be the ties that bind.

I’ve spent too long mourning the friends that I don’t have. I realized that tonight after MJ came to my support over the shooting incident just over an hour from my home involving USAF servicemen. I’ve never met her in person. She found my blog last summer though and we’ve become solid blog buddies. Tonight she shared my shaken feeling because, as she said, blog love = real love.

It’s so true. Between MJ coming to my support or Stereo sending her love, I’ve been uplifted through the bonds of friendship. We’ve never met face to face and it’s possible that we never will. But these two women are helping me rethink what friendship is.

I know now that it isn’t limited by physical proximity. I used to think that a friend was someone you had to see regularly. Someone you went out with. Someone you talked to at ungodly hours. Someone you shared everything with. I’m learning now that friends are the people who care enough to read and speak. To respond and love. They are the person who takes the time to know you and care about you from their home.

Thank you MJ and thank you Stereo. You’ve both been walking with me through some hard times. I’m not used to being friendless and alone; but I’m realizing now, that I’m not. I have you both out there, reading and commenting. That truly means the world to me. Thank you for being my friends.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Bonds of Friendship

  1. Stereo says:

    It is such an honour to be your friend, K. Please know that we aren’t going anywhere. We need you just as much <3

  2. MJ says:

    “Traditional” friend or not, I’m here for you! Your U.S. home is close enough to me and I hope we do meet someday!

  3. Shiny says:

    As one of K’s friends from back home, I would also like to thank MJ and Stereo for being there when others couldn’t or wouldn’t.
    <3,
    M

Leave a Reply

