OBB: Week ?

I’ve lost track of my weeks. And I know that I could go back and just check, but, I’m feeling lazy. Besides, starting next week I’ll be adding in my new diet modifications, so I’ll restart a count then.

Last week was an awesome gym week. This week has been pretty good too. I’ve started running my miles slower – but longer and more consistently. Instead of sprinting a mile in under seven minutes and then gasping for breath/holding my side together for the next seven, I’m running for 30-40 minutes at a 10:30 pace and feeling good at the end. Tired, but good.

About the only bummer here has been my results. I’m still sitting right around 156; my measurements are still fluctuating around the same inch or so. I’m feeling great and on good days I can sort of see results. I can feel the firmer ab muscles, but they’re hiding.

But, let’s say I run on the elliptical for 33 minutes around level 12. Today that equaled 3.30 miles and 300 calories. Now, K from last week would come home and decide she was hungry. And since she had worked out she would have a “healthy” snack – typically wheat thins with laughing cow cheese and maybe some fruit – and right there she would negate the 300 calories that she had burned. Now, it’s simple math to know that calories in has to be less than calories out in order to lose weight. Which brings me to the new health resolutions for March:

1. No more soda. None. No Mountain Dew. No Coke Zero. Sodas are about to become a treat only for me. It needs to happen. I used to only drink diet sodas, but B drinks MD so I’ve been drinking it. And those empty calories add up.

2. No more late night snacking. This is costing me anywhere from 200-500 calories right before bed. They couldn’t be more useless. I want to actually feel the results of my workouts and not “blow” them by stuffing my face later. I also want the freedom to eat what I want at meals (within reason) which I can do if I’m not trying to eat again right before bed.

Enough of what I’m not doing anymore, here’s what I’m doing:

1. Eating breakfast. It seems like a no-brainer. But B and I have just finally started getting up early enough to actually eat breakfast. It’s my least favorite meal because I’m all cranky about not being in bed anymore. My goal for March is to eat either a fiber muffin (Fiber One makes amazing apple cinnamon and blueberry bran muffin mixes, yummy and good for you) or a bowl of oatmeal with a banana. Something warm and filling plus a fruit serving!

2. Up my fruit and veggie intake. I’ve gotten halfway decent at the 1 of each a day. Now I’m going for 2 a day. Some days this is easier than others. Sometimes I crave a salad, other times I crave french fries. My goal for now is to cut down on the amount I give in to french fries by subbing in the veggies.

3. Drink more water. And juice – mainly orange juice fortified with calcium (because I don’t drink milk, blech) but also some V8 Splash. I need to drink more liquids that hydrate me.

The hope is that all of this will just become part and parcel with every day life. Not to mention result in me being down 10 lbs by my cruise. I’m ready to see the chanegs that I’m working so hard on achieving. I don’t just want to feel them, I want to see them.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Operation Bikini Body. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to OBB: Week ?

  1. Stereo says:

    You’re rocking it! Doing couch to 5K, I’m hoping that soon I’ll be able to spend that amount of consistent time on the treadmill without slowing down!

    I know it gets disheartening when we’re working our butts off to shape up/lose weight and the visible results are slow in coming but I know that you’ll achieve your goal. You’re doing far too much and way too well not to!

  2. MJ says:

    Those are great changes! I always find it easy to start with exercise and then diet changes come after once that light flips on that calories in < calories out. Such as last night when I rewarded my gym time with a Reese's Egg. Oops. Maybe I'll get back on track with eating next week too! I'm good on fruit, but need more veggies!

  3. Shiny says:

    Hey K – you’re doing amazing! Most people would have quit months ago… I have some hard earned advice (if you don’t want it, warning! Stop reading now!).
    Two things – take a picture of yourself every day because the visual changes are there, it’s just so gradual that it’s hard to see. Pictures will help with that. And secondly – slow, gradual changes are permanent changes. So keep it up, love!!!
    Miss you, Love you!!!
    <3,
    M

Leave a Reply

