Halfiversary

The following is a letter that I wrote to B, today, on our 6 month wedding anniversary. Anniversaries are hard dates in the military, because deployments often keep spouses apart on important dates. We’ve decided that we will celebrate every 6 months to give us the most opportunities to not have our anniversary missed. 

B, 

Every girl dreams of her wedding day. She can close her eyes and see the dress, the flowers, the guests. She can hear the swell of the music as she walks down the ailse on her Daddy’s arm. Her eyes have room only for him – the man waiting for her at the altar. He has filled her eyes, mind, heart, and soul in the days, weeks, and months leading up to this perfect day. Even before they met, he would be always on her mind and in her heart. She might write him letters that he’d never read, she might just dream of who he might be and how wonderful it will be to meet him.
 
Six months ago today, the dress wasn’t what I wanted – blue and not white, short and not long, more Breakfast at Tiffany’s than My Big Fat Greek Wedding. Six months ago today there were no flowers but those blooming in the flower beds around the courthouse. Six months ago today there were only three guests, friends of less than a year who took the time to carpool with us; unless you count the ladies watching from the courthouse windows. Six months ago today my Daddy was at work in Texas; the hum of traffic meandering down the streets around us was the only music to accompany our walk across the grass.
 
But you were there, waiting for me under the tree. My eyes didn’t see the trampoline in the yard across the street because they were filled with you. My ears didn’t hear the cars on the street or the distant highway because they were attuned to the words coming from your lips. “I, B, do take you K to be my lawfully wedded wife.” It was all the music I needed to hear.
 
As much as I dreamed of meeting you, as much as I dreamed of being with you, nothing I dreamt has stood up to the reality of being yours. I never imagined that I’d meet you in a bar. I never imagined that we’d date for 3 whirlwind weeks. I never imagined that we’d spend 7 long months seeing each other only when we could make the 1500 mile trip by plane or car. I never imagined that I’d live with you before I married you. I never imagined that I wouldn’t have family with me when I said my vows. I never imagined that life with you could be so amazing.
 
For the first 9 months you surprised me by showing me what I would do for love. For the last 6 months you have shown me how amazing it is to be loved by you. Where the first 9 months were filled with travels hoping to get to see you at the end, the last 6 have been spent traveling with you by my side. Adventures with you are always grand. Life with you is never dull.
 
From globe-trotting and jet-setting (car-setting really) around Europe with you to curling up on the couch to watch a movie with you, life with you is everything I’d ever hoped for – and so much more.
 
Six months ago today, I gave my life to you and you gave yours to me. Six months ago today, I pledged my love to you and received your pledge in return. Six months ago today was an absolutely perfect day.
 
I don’t remember six months ago today for what it didn’t have, but for what it did have. It had you. And that’s all it ever needed.
Happy Halfiversary my love.
~The Countess~
About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Halfiversary

  1. Stereo says:

    This is gorgeous, K. I know it hasn’t all been smooth sailing but you guys are a beacon. The love is very evident in your words. Happy Halfiversary to you two ♥

  2. MJ says:

    This is so great. With all my “how do you know”ing I’ve been doing this week, trying to think too much about dating and finding someone, I’ve ben meaning to look through your archives to reread your love story that is just so simple and beautiful. I was glad to see this this week as a reminder that when it’s right things work out!

  3. Stephany says:

    This is so beautiful. Maybe not what you always imagined for a wedding, but far more than you planned for love. You have found something so special. <3

  4. Shiny says:

    Being there with you during your hurricane year(s), it is so amazing seeing you in love and being loved/adored by your man. What a beautiful romance.
    Love you, Miss you,
    <3,
    M

Leave a Reply

