OBB: Rewards

What drives your motivation? What keeps you moving when you want to quit? How do you reward yourself for sticking with a plan?

I’ve had to answer all of these questions recently as I’ve started down this path of changing the status quo with my exercise. I’ve always been the nominally in shape girl – a little effort goes a long way for me. I’m tall, let’s face it, I can get away with a lot of things that shorter girls can’t. I also have a really fast metabolism, sucks for alcohol but is awesome for eating. Making the tiniest changes to my diet can make me look slender. Heck, I know how to dress my body to it’s thinnest advantage.

That said, I’m not as slender as I want to be. I want to have that confident edge that comes with knowing that I’m in kick-ass shape. I want to know that, at the end of the day, I’ve done everything I can to be a healthy me. I also want to be able to enjoy eating whatever I want every now and then without freaking out.

But those feelings are not the greatest of motivators when facing the gym after a long day of work. Neither is B’s cheering section. Especially since his workout buddy has reappeared and I have been relegated to working out alone. (They just can’t work out when I can, otherwise we’d all go together) Both are great motivators, and aesthetically speaking should be all I need. . .

Yeah, I’m still a girl. I still like shinies and sparklies and other assorted pretties. Besides this is Operation Bikini Body. So it makes sense that my end goal, my reward, and my motivation would be a bikini. Or two actually. My plan is to feel in shape enough to order these sometime in March, maybe April, depending on when I have to go buy a MoH dress.

I scoured the Victoria’s Secret webpage in search of the perfect bikini for me. I narrowed it down from 250 to 4. B picked out his favorite two. They are currently wish-listed and the plan is to get 1 pair of bottoms and 2 different tops. I’m pretty excited about them.

I'd get both top and bottom here.

And just the top here.

I like the first set of bottoms, because I know from experience that the fold-over tops on them are more forgiving and less likely to cut into the skin and give the muffin top syndrome.

What works for you to keep you going to the gym even when you don’t want to? Do you have any rewards planned for yourself?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Operation Bikini Body. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to OBB: Rewards

  1. MJ says:

    Cute suits! My brides are onto ordering the maids’ dresses now and I’m freaking because I still want a few months to shape up before getting sized. I suppose that’s what alterations are for.

    • Thanks! I’m excited about them. Just found out today that our cruise in May is on, so now I have something to wear them for. :)

      My sister put the fabric swatch in the mail to me last week, so, I’m going to have to start that process soon myself. Here’s hoping I can find an alterations shop here in Germany.

  2. Pingback: Early Arrival « dream for a living

Leave a Reply

