OBB: Week 3

I can’t believe that it’s been 3 weeks since I recommitted to this. I’m sitting here at this moment snacking on an apple and some light laughing cow cheese with low-fat wheat thins. I just came home from the gym with a run and my strength routine as outlined before. I feel great. I’m looking great and I know it. B grabbed my butt the other day and commented that he could feel the difference as well as see it.

I’m going ahead and getting the stats out of the way now:

Weight: 157 (same)

Hips: 39 (same, -1 overall)

Abs: 36 (same, -2 overall)

Waist: 27 (same)

So absolutely no change this week. I’ve watched Biggest Loser and they all gasp and cry on each other’s shoulders when this happens. It occurs most regularly to the female characters. Why? Because we have periods. And we get bloated and hold on to water weight. Which is exactly what’s happening with me right now.

The lack of weight change doesn’t really surprise me. I’ve been sitting close to this weight since college – sometimes up a few, sometimes down a few. I gained 10 lbs in grad school and put my foot down at 167. It marched right back to 157 and has been sitting there for awhile. And now, I’m working out – I’m converting fat to muscle at a pretty decent rate, so I expect to have to go at it for awhile before I’ll see that number change. Though, the thing is, that I don’t really care if it does or not. I really do just want to be a more toned version of myself right now. I’m cute, I’m curvy (okay, not really, I’m too tall to be curvy) and I like me right now. The number on the scale doesn’t really touch that.

I have to give shout out here to my husband. He has been an amazing supporter. He’s pushing me to the gym daily, but never in a nasty way. He listens to me recap my workout daily. He is constantly encouraging me. I really do think that I’d have given up by now if it wasn’t for him. That, and he’s already approved of my rewards that I’ve picked for walking this path. If I exercise consistently through March then I’m ordering these in April. Right now my goal is at least 4 days a week in February and 5 a week in March. I’m either hitting the gym or doubling up DVD workouts every weekday. Any miss is made up on the weekend. We’re both working on eating healthier, so for now I’m just going to stick with eating veggies and fruit with every meal and cutting to only one soda a day.

Anyway, check back later for a post on my rewards.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to OBB: Week 3

  1. Stereo says:

    Well done, lady! You’re kicking ass. I sometimes wish I had a workout buddy; I think it would make things just a bit less tedious and a little more uplifting but then again, I probably work out best when I’m on my own. Reading your updates is is motivating me to keep on trucking.

    • I like using my husband as my workout buddy – we go together and leave together and that’s it. He lifts weights while I run, then I do strength/abs while he runs. But having the other person there keeps us both there longer.

  2. MJ says:

    Glad to hear you are still rocking away. Sounds like you have the plan, the motivation and realistic expectations! I don’t see where you can go wrong! Nice to have such a supportive man too!

    • Thanks. The realistic expectations are the hardest part. I want to wake up and be able to wear a bikini tomorrow. But, I can definitely see little changes, so I’m going to stick with it.

  3. Shiny says:

    Wow, K – so exciting!!!!! Congratulations on finding something that works (always the hardest part for me). And no surprise there about B – such a great guy. :-) I’m so happy for y’all – just hope that God will move y’all a little closer!!!
    Love you, Miss you.
    <3,
    M

Leave a Reply

