Trust

Trust. It looks so sturdy on a page. It sounds so simple rolling off of the tongue. Trust. Something we should obviously do. Something deeply instilled within us. Trust. The heartbeat of social interactions. The lifeblood of relationships. Trust. The helpmate of all other needs. The support structure for all other emotions. Trust. Trust. Trust.

Trust that the sun will rise in the morning. Trust that there will be food for dinner. Trust that the roof over your head will remain in its sheltering place. Trust that friends will be there. Trust that family loves you. Trust that people will honor their word. Trust that a lover will not stray. Trust that God will always be there. Trust that rain will fall and rivers will run. Trust that crops will grow and survive to harvest. Trust that tests are administered fairly. Trust that no one will cheat. Trust that the truth will be told. Trust. Trust. Trust.

I trust you. You trust me. We’re a trusting family. The couple that trusts together, stays together. Trust. Trust. Trust.

The word grows strange on the page, looks unfamiliar, threatening. It twists off the tongue, careening off of lips strewn with lies. Trust me. I’d never do that. Trust me. I’m not like them. Trust me. I have good intentions. Trust me. I care. Trust me. I’ll always be there. Trust. Trust. Trust.

Trust. A double-edged blade. Don’t you trust me? A weapon that makes victims of both parties. Why can’t you trust me? Trust. Trust. Trust.

Such a fragile word. Trust. A delicate concept. Trust. Broken all too easily. Trust. Suspicions erode it to nothing. Trust. Trust. Trust.

If you break it, you buy it. Trust. Here today, gone tomorrow. Trust. Once lost, never again gained. Trust. Trust. Trust.



Trust. A tiny seed waiting for nourishment. Trust. A blossoming concept planting roots. Trust. A full-fledged life commitment. Trust. It isn’t a choice. Trust. It’s a way of life. Trust. Trust. Trust.

I trust you to love me. I trust you to care. I trust you to always be there. I trust you to do as you say. I trust God to be good. Trust. Trust. Trust.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Trust

  1. goatius says:

    Reading this brought an epiphany: I ask people to trust me a lot. Even in my blog. I just hope I have never given a reader a reason not to trust me. Trust me you can trust me. Great post very thought provoking

    • Thank you very much. As a teacher, I ask my students to trust me daily. As a wife, I both trust my spouse and ask him to trust me. Every relationship in life is built on trust.

  2. Shiny says:

    Trust on one side, betrayal on the other. Now flip the coin. 50, 50 – take your chances.

    Love you, K. Thank you for forgiving and forgetting – even when I’ve landed on the wrong side.
    <3,
    M

    P.S. Beautiful, poignant writing…

Leave a Reply

