Working it out

I’m itching for a fight and cannot for the life of me figure out why. It’s like my subconcious wants to throw a party where I yell at people and throw things. I don’t even like throwing things, unless it’s a frisbee; and I much prefer a quiet voice of deadly-angry-calm to yelling.  Yet I’ve almost thrown things several times this week. B offered me a sock to throw, but that just doesn’t have any satisfaction. And nothing else around me was safe to throw. As to the yelling, I’ve kept it to deriding people acting stupid online. But still, I normally don’t pick fights or incite discussions with random idiots on the internet – no one wins a fight like that…

Things that have set me off this week:

Random girl on the Cosmo boards (I read, don’t comment) complaining about her boyfriend moving 2 hours away and asking for advice on how to deal with now being in a long distance relationship. Everyone kept  telling her to Skype him a lot, write him letters, and set an end date to the huge distance between them. Me? I wanted to shake the whole lot of them and tell them that 2 hours is not long distance. They could each drive an hour and have dinner every night of the week if they wanted. That isn’t distance. 1500 miles apart is distance. Seeing each other once every 4-5 weeks is distance. Seeing each other every weekend? Not long distance. It drove me nuts. B laughed a lot as I fumed; though he did tell me that this was a reason to sign in and bitch the poor girl out. But seriously, on behalf of everyone who has truly ever been in a long distance relationship, please don’t demean us by claiming your measly two hours apart as distance.

(Note: I’m still in that fight picking mood, can you tell?)

Random people on facebook complaining that our local base exchange (think a really crappy and over-priced WalMart) was closed for one business day to do inventory. This was advertised for a week. They closed on a Thursday. There are still a million other places to shop in the area – even if the majority of them are German. Anything you might need for an emergency can be bought elsewhere on base. They don’t close everything at once. And these girls were saying that the minimum wage earning employees should have to come in on night shifts and inventory the whole store in 12 hours (from close to opening) and then work the day shift too. Never mind that they have families, never mind that they might have husbands who work a night shift and therefore there’s no one to watch the kids. Nope, how dare the store close and inconvenience someone by not letting them buy their crappy merchandise. And oh yeah, the BX did start the inventory with a night shift, they just still had to miss one day out of 365 to get this done. So ridiculous. And yes, I told them this.

The previous owner of my soon to be new-to-me car. They haven’t deregistered it yet. Until they do, I can’t take possession of it. I’ve done everything on my end and now I just have to wait. I’m not good at that. I’m frustrated that it’s been over 2 weeks since they dropped the car at the dealership and they still haven’t accomplished this one little thing. It’d better be ready by next weekend, or, K-zilla will roam the streets.

There’ve been a myriad of other things that have made me want to fuss. Things I normally chuckle over I’m jumping to tussle over. My guess is that my hormones are still evening out with my birth control. It’s just kind of amusing. Because I can actually almost sit back and watch myself get into a fighting mode over these non-issues. Hopefully it passes soon, I’m tired of walking on eggshells around myself.

~The Countess aka K-zilla~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Working it out

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Working it out « dream for a living -- Topsy.com

  2. MJ says:

    Ha! Why would you want to throw a sock?! Nice try though, B! I’ve definitely been there where everything around you is so grating!

  3. Shiny says:

    I LOVE that you’re venting AND poking fun at yourself at the same time – awesome! And way to keep it real. :) So ok – the quiet-deadly-voice – much scarier. :)
    Love you, Miss you K – zilla.
    <3,
    M

Leave a Reply

