Operation Bikini Body

It is so on. I decided last week right after I’d posted my Goals post that I wanted to call this Operation Bikini Body (OBB) for short, but it was late so I went to bed. By the next morning it’d already been commented on a couple of times, so I just went with it. Now however, I am launching OBB.

I’ve never worn a bikini in my life. I’ve always been afraid too. I worry that I’m not skinny enough, busty enough, tanned enough, toned enough…enough, enough, enough. But, I’ve noticed girls my size wearing bikinis and looking cute. Always I have been too afraid.

Hello, my name start’s with K and I have self-esteem issues. I’m 5’10 and have been since I was about thirteen. I went from being a half inch shorter than my sister to three-quarters of an inch taller than her – in a week. I was all elbows and knees. I was head and shoulders taller than all my friensd. Of course, being girls the weight conversation happened frequently in my group. They all talked about being under 100 lbs. I felt heavy when I told them I was 120. I lied. I weighed 140 lbs – and was skinny. Right then, weight became my nemesis. But my nemesis to be battled secretly. I pretended at confidence and hoped it would come. I pretended that I was pretty and hoped it would be true. I pretended that being tall and slender was a good thing and hoped no one told me otherwise. I had someone tell me I could be a model – if I was willing to be a plus sized model. Who says that to a size eight 16 year old?

All of this, combined with coming from a relatively conservative household meant that I never wore a bikini. I’m changing that this year. I am finally becoming proud of who I am. I don’t care about the number on the scale. I care about how I feel. For example, when I posted Goals I started at 157. A week later I’m still at 157 but I’ve lost inches off my measurements. Of course I still want to see that number go down. But, honestly? I’ve been in the mid150s since college. I still wear clothes from college. I was a size 8 then and I’m one now.

I’m buying a bikini this year – yeah, I’m going to eat healthier and exercise – but I’m getting one no matter the outcome of this little operation.

Weight: 157 (same)

Waist: 27 (same)

Abs: 36 (-2)

Hips: 39 (-1)

Thighs: I’m not measuring them. I like my legs, they can stay as they are. Besides, this number is probably going to climb seeing my new workout routine.

Eating: I managed to eat at least 1 serving of fruits and 1 of veggies every day. Even when I was sick. I’m starting to snack smarter – I’ll drink water or eat an apple right when I get hungry and most of the time that knocks it out. If not, then I move on to wheat thins and laughing cow cheese. My goal is to slowly increase the amount of fruits and veggies. We’re still sticking with our not eating out plan. It’s been awesome for both of us.

Water:  Ever since we started buying bottled water, I can now drink water without getting sick. I’m back to drinking it with meals as well as inbetween. I’m currently probably intaking 4-5 glasses a day. I’m also going to work on upping this amount too. I’m also drinking at least on glass of calcium fortified oj every day. I don’t drink milk, so this (plus the cheese) is helping me get my calcium. I’m down to only drinking one diet soda a day and come Lent, I may cut the soda out completely.

Workout: I only made it to the gym twice this week. Monday and today. On Tuesday they were closed for an electrical fire, Wednesday I was running a fever, and Thursday we hosted a dinner party. B is currently making me go 5 days a week. I’m supposed to go weekdays, but if I miss, then I have to make it up on weekends. That means we’ll be hitting the gym (or doing a workout video) tomorrow and Sunday. On Monday at the gym I decided to push my running and see what I can do. I managed two miles at a 9:22 pace on level 8 on the elliptical. Today I again decided to push and did 1.5 miles in 12:43. On both days I did my new strength routine: 500 crunches, 50 squats and 50 lunges. It goes something like this:

Crunches 1 : 50 obliques, 50 regular

Squats 1: 2 reps of 15 squats with shoulder press (5lb hand weights)

Crunches 2: 50 reverse, 50 regular

Lunges 1: 2 reps of 10 (1 w/each leg forward) with tricep dips (5lb hand weights)

Crunches 3: 50 reverse kicks, 50 regular

Squats 2: 2 reps of 10 with arm raises (5lb hand weights)

Crunches 4: 50 oblique, 50 regular

Lunges 2: 2 reps of 15 (same as before) with bicep curls (5lb hand weights)

Crunches 5: 100 regular

I’m not going to lie, it’s intense. I’m a little achy all over – but in a good way. I’m keeping it up. After all, I have a cruise on the horizon for my honeymoon. Not to mention, that B and I have decided to have a vow renewal ceremony. But that will be a post all it’s own. Trust me, I’m getting excited.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Operation Bikini Body. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Operation Bikini Body

  1. MJ says:

    You look like a model! Pretty face, glowing skin, tall and thin. But I understand that it doesn’t matter what other people say and you need to feel comfortable with yourself. That’s so great that you have a plan for it (and it sounds like a TOUGH one)!

    Once you get that bikini, wear it with pride! I’ve seen thicker girls rock them because they have the confidence and thin girls make themselves look horrible in one because they tug and cover up and hate their bodies.

    • Thanks so much – I actually am shallow enough that compliments from people do mean something to me. ;) Over the last year I’ve made huge leaps and bounds in the self-esteem department, but deciding to buy a bikini this year has brought it all home.

      I get you on the pride and confidence thing – I’ve seen the same thing myself. And I want to be one of the rocking girls. ;)

  2. Pingback: Deflection « dream for a living

  3. Pingback: The Vanity of Sizing « dream for a living

Leave a Reply

