Stacked

A stacked deck of cards could get you in a lot of trouble in an Old West saloon. People took their card playing seriously. Like, guns on the table with bullets chambered seriously. That was their drinking money they were risking after all, and what was left from drinking was needed to pay for food and lodging and other useless asundries.

Today we try to stack the odds in our favor by doing research on before buying a car, shopping smart with the groceries so we automatically eat healthier, or changing into work out clothes before going to the gym to guarantee the trip. Anything to make life play out the way we want to. We buy a house based on school districts so our future kids can get into better colleges and graduate with better jobs. We work our networking skills to the max in order to have the right contacts to succeed in life.

We do our best to set ourselves on the path to happily ever after as quickly and easily as possible. We join our church singles group to try and meet Mr. Future Husband, we go out with friends to meet people and enjoy life. Only to feel like it’s never working and then have the not working part rubbed in by a close friend/relative/random floozy on the street meeting her Mr. Prince Charming in a way that seems so counter-intuitive. We work so hard to get ahead only to find ourselves barely able to make our bills because of an unforseen expense. We try our hardest to keep people happy (or just keep the peace) only to have to make a decision that they don’t approve of and find our efforts null and void.

Not to mention the days that the universe is stacked against us. We’re tired, run down, and fighting being sick and still decide to risk the gym. Only to find it closed for electrical issues. Now it’s cold and rainy and there’s no work out happening. It was planned, anticipated, and looked forward to, only to be cruelly cut down in its infancy.

If there’s such a thing as karma – she’s a bitch. Because, just when you thought your day had been pooped on enough, she goes and makes it worse. With news that might not surprise you, but still majorly disappoints. And the worst part is that I can’t even complain about it. Ihave to say that it’s okay and of course I don’t mind all while crying inside. I was going to go throw a positive spin on this whole post and now I can’t.

Today the universe in effing stacked against me. If I was in the Old West, I’d shoot it for playing this way, but I’m not and can’t, so I’ll go deal with it some other way.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stacked

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Stacked « dream for a living -- Topsy.com

  2. Stereo says:

    Man, I’m sorry, K. My day sucked ass yesterday and I felt like the world was conspiring against me. I wish I could hold your hand and tell you it’ll all be ok but since I can’t physically do that, just know that I’m thinking of you.

  3. Shiny says:

    Hey K, I’m sorry… After dropping another 700 we didn’t have on the house (raccoon and mice in the attic), I feel you. I love you and I hope karma starts doing her job because if anyone deserves sunshine and daisies, it’s you.
    Love you, Miss you.
    <3,
    M

Leave a Reply

