Goals

I’m sitting here, all cute and clean from my time at the gym and all I can get out of B is complaints about how hard the monsters in his video game are to kill. Oh well, I guess that’s the fun reality of married life every now and then. This post is about my workout and the goals I have for the first part of 2011, so if that stuff bores you, feel free to skip. I just need a place to log my workouts and track my progress. I’m only planning on doing this once weekly, but they’ll still be popping up.

B successfully dragged me to the gym today, which was pretty easy considering I was in a good mood and all motivated over the car and Lia Sophia party. I used the run strategy for Week 2 from the Couch to 5k program over at Cool Running. Essentially, after a 5 minute warm up, I ran 90 second intervals with a 2 minute walk in between for 20 minutes. This was all done on the elliptical, level 13. After that I did 200 crunches and some weight work for my arms and legs.

Honestly, this was my first real workout in a week. Between B getting sick and me not feeling great myself – both emotionally and physically – I gave myself a pass on working out. I shouldn’t have. I feel so great after this evening’s work out. A little sore, definitely like I pushed myself, and absolutely thrilled that I got this in. While I was running on the elliptical, not really watching the hockey on tv and listening to nothing other than the ambient sounds in the room, I decided that I needed goals. Something to convince me to drag my butt to the gym, even when I don’t feel like it.

Here’s what I came up with: I have two formal events roughly 2 weeks apart in May/June – B’s brother’s commissioning and my sister’s wedding. In between, we’re *fingers crossed* going on a cruise to celebrate our own honeymoon. I want a bikini body for the cruise. I want to be the hot girl at both events. So that’s my goal. Here’s the deal, I know that I’m going to forget this every now and then – my desire to not sweat will overpower my desire to be the good looking one. So I’m pledging to report in to the vast craziness of the internet. I have my “starting” weight aka what I weighed at the gym tonight after working out and my measurements. I’m going to be writing them down, here, for me to see and track.

Starting Weight: 157

BMI: 22.5 – so perfectly normal, I’m just all about feeling better than ever.

Size: 8-ish

Waist: 27 inches

Abdomen: 38 inches

Hips: 40 inches

There it is in all it’s glory. I don’t have a set size in mind to get to. My main goal is to workout at least 5 days a week. I’m also going to try and eat 2 pieces of fruit a day and at least one serving of veggies. This track gets a month for me to see what I can get out of it. After that I’ll reevaluate my plans.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Goals

  1. emjaye says:

    Good for you. It’s best to get it all out there. Looking hot is definite motivation for me as well, but sometimes when I’m running on the treadmill, I see a commercial for ice cream and that seems much easier and more fun (or like earlier I read your post about Cheetos and thought, “oh yum!”), but it’s worth the sacrifice. Sign me up as your cheerleader!

    • You are signed up. :) My hardest thing with ice cream and cheetos is that I try and justify them – the whole – I worked out so I can eat worse mentality. Which just leaves me feeling exactly the same, so I’m doing my best to not let myself do that anymore. I want changes. :)

  2. Stereo says:

    Couch to 5k is kind of saving my life right now. I do it on the days I’m not at an exercise class or doing a home workout. Looking at your measurements, I wish I was your size! But we’ll reach our goals :)

  3. Shiny says:

    Good luck, love. I know you can do it because if anyone has power of will, it’s you! :)
    P.S. Working out when you’re down while a talking (or yelling) it all out to God is the best medicine. Hello endorphins!
    Love you, Miss you.
    <3,
    M

Leave a Reply

