Turn Around

The first thing I have to say is thank you to Stereo and Emjaye. Reading both of your comments on my last blog truly lifted my spirits. Keep an eye on your inboxes because you may get mail from me in the future when I need to vent and feel like I can’t. Feel free to send me emails too, I’m a correspondence junkie.

It’s amazing what 24 hours can do. Last night was rough on me. I struggled to stay somewhat positive. I skipped my workout and ate cheetos with my husband while he played video games instead. Then I had a night of weird dreams. When our alarm went off this morning, I honestly just wanted to pull the covers over my head and give up on the day. I just didn’t want to face the day. But B really wanted to go look at cars today and inventory moves really fast here, so I dragged myself up.

First off, it was freezing cold today. I was shivering a lot and I had on a good winter jacket. We used one of our eat out days for lunch before heading over to the car dealership. I’d found a 2008 Mazda 3 ‘Touring’ edition with 29000 miles on it on one site and we wanted to take a look at it. It was a bit pricy, but seemed worth it. When we got there and saw the car, I was heavily reluctant about it. It was full of a lot of features – sun roof, 6 cd changer, fog lights (running lights), and the like. Things that I don’t really care about. We wanted to test drive it, but their only dealer plates were out on another car, so we left there intending to go back the next day. Instead, we wandered up the street to another used car lot. This one also had a Mazda 3 hatchback. It was a more basic model – no sun roof, only one cd at a time, but still a good car. It was a 2007 with 50k miles, but it was 4k cheaper than the other car. And they let us test drive it. We now have that car on reserve until we can take them a check. About the only downside to the car is that it’s white.

I’m very psyched about this car. It’s cute. It’s sporty. It handles like a dream. We aren’t worried about the 50k miles as we know that Mazda is a good brand name and that they handle their miles well. I’m also used to driving cars with high mileage, so it doesn’t really scare me. We know we should get at least another 30k before it needs any work done. It also has brand new all season tires on it, which cost a pretty penny over here in Germany. It’s going to be our touring car – we’ll use it for trips and I’ll use it as my car. Then we head back to the US, we’ll be taking it with us. I’m excited, which is awesome because I was resigning myself to not liking the car we purchased. And now we got exactly what I wanted.

The other part of my turn around came tonight while teaching. Only one of my students comes to me and she’s a young mom who is super sweet and super overwhelmed with her kids. And at the end of her lesson, she invited me to the Lia Sophia party that she’s hosting this weekend. I was making non-commital comments about going – because it is a Saturday that B has free, but he was mouthing at me to go. I’m really hoping that maybe, just maybe, this can be what I need to make friends and find a place here in the community.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Friends, Germany, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Turn Around

  1. Stereo says:

    OMGOSH! I just bought a Mazda 3! It really is lovely little car and I adore it. Driving it is a pleasure. You’ll love it. Well done for finding a car so quickly.

  2. Shiny says:

    Yay! I want to see pictures! :) Also – I really hope the party works out well. But all that to say, having your spirits up was the best news.
    Love you, Miss you.
    <3,
    M

  3. Sunny says:

    Yesssss!! So excited for you!

Leave a Reply

