Bad Start

Today is Thursday. Thursday is date day in our household. It’s the only day that B doesn’t have practice or a game, so it’s the only day that we can just do whatever. I do teach on Thursdays, but I’m always done early enough for us to have a fun evening. And we generally spend the morning/pre work hours running errands or just chilling together. Whatever we end up doing, it’s kind of our day. The one we don’t share with others.

Today was also going to be different. Some friends of ours (his, really) were returning from the States and needed to be picked up from the airport. It’s an hour away, but we were willing to help even though it ate up our free time. So we got up early (for us) and got ready to go. We were just headed to get gas on base when they texted to say that they had just landed. Since they still had customs and baggage control to get through, we knew we had plenty of time. B told them we were on our way. And they texted back to say that they were pretty sure that we wouldn’t all fit if I came too.

How can two people have so much luggage that you can’t fit four people and bags in a Honday Civic? How could they have failed to mention this during all the emails in which B asked about the luggage situation? Why couldn’t they take the effing train if they have that much baggage? Why did they ask the couple that only has one car to pick them up if they knew there was only room for one of them to come?

I’m so freaking pissed about this right now. Instead of getting to spend the day with my husband, chit-chatting while driving, I’m stuck at home with nothing to do. It feels so typical for these friends. We’re friends on their schedule and their choices. Otherwise, I might not even exist. If they had known B before we were married or maybe liked his ex-girlfriend a lot, I could maybe understand the hostility towards myself. But, while the husband went to school with B, they only spent one semester in each other’s company through sports. Yet, either I feel like I’m included begrudgingly in activities or I get turned down in inviting them to do things.

And now this. It might not seem like a huge deal, but, to me it’s incredibly rude. They know we only have one car. They know that we do pretty much everything together (hey, we’re newly-weds and actually like each other, deal with it). And they never mentioned there not being room for me (in our car I might add) until we were leaving to get them. It feels deliberate. Like, they purposefully waited until the last minute to say I couldn’t come because of room so that we couldn’t come up with another solution.

It’s a bad start to the day. Now I get to sit around and probably seethe about it until B gets home. Then I get to go teach. And somehow in all of this I’m supposed to find a good attitude for date night tonight. We won’t even get into having to be friendly with this couple the next time I see them, which will probably be this weekend. I’m over it. I’m over them. Can we please move on and have some actual friends?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bad Start

  1. Shiny says:

    Good for you! How terribly rude and inconsiderate – I hope you guys get some real friends…
    Love you. Miss you.
    <3,
    M

Leave a Reply

