Fresh Start

I’ve never been big on New Year’s Resolutions. I’m of the firm belief that you can decide to change at any point in time and then enact it. I also believe that storing up changes and trying to make them all at one time guarantees them for failure. It’s like we get this idea in our heads that we have to start the year off perfectly and that the moment we mess up we have to give up until next year. Which is why I hate resolutions – life is all about exploring, falling down, and getting back up again. Quitting isn’t an option. Every second is a chance to change direction and make good choices and decisions.

All that said, I do at least realize that the majority of people feel like the NY represents an opportunity to change everything in their lives for the better. That much was in evidence when we went to the gym today. It was packed and we went mid-afternoon. Even the gym leadership is participating in this NY start over mentality with a Biggest Loser challenge to start off the year.

We are sold this idea that the turn over from December 31 to January 1 is our chance to wipe the slate clean and begin anew. Yet, we aren’t limited to starting fresh only at the beginning of the year. Each month, week, day, and hour afford an opportunity to redirect our life in the way we want it to go. I don’t want to get so hung up on the idea of a NY’s clean slate that I give up the first time I miss the gym or don’t make up my bed or eat junk food for dinner instead of my veggies.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fresh Start

  1. Shiny says:

    I so admire your determination. I have that tendency – to give up once “it” becomes imperfect. I have never done New Year resolutions, but I have one now – to not give up, but to keep growing, keep changing, keep getting up again.

    Love you, MISS you.
    <3,
    M

  2. Sunny says:

    Fantastic! Love this post! Logic strikes again. In a good way. :D
    ~Sunny

Leave a Reply

