A Thousand Words

So, right about two months ago now my old laptop up and died. I was on Skype video with a friend when it shut down and wouldn’t turn back on. It turns out I managed to fry my motherboard. Fun, no? B and I had already started researching computers while mine was being diagnosed so we bought my new laptop immediately. Unfortunately, all of my photos, music, and writings are stuck on the old laptop. It’s going with me to Texas for my Dad to try and recover my info.

I am the kind of girl to be hugely attached to my photos. They mean the world to me – little capturings of life. I am often silly and goofy in photos, which is an accurate portrayal of me in real life too. I like to be the silly one. Picking one photo is hard for me. Picking that one photo when the majority of my photos are currently inaccessible is even harder. I would have picked two from my wedding pictures, but I can’t. They’ll be IOU’s for when I get everything recovered.

Instead I’m left trying to decide what to post. There have been so many happy memories captured on film recently- Christmas card photos at a nearby Castle, our trip to Frankenstein’s castle, roaming all over Brugge, and going to Christmas parties. They were all taken by B or myself. They all feature the two of us. In all of them we are happy and on an adventure. So how do I choose? I have to admit that I really can’t. What can I say, I’ve always been so verbose that 1000 words isn’t enough anyway.

Wandering Brugge
We took this one outside one of the museums after having wandered all over looking for the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse. It was cold and I had on two pair of socks and plastic bags in my boots because they were leaking cold water in like a seive.

Christmas Card

We decided to send out Christmas cards this year since we had just gotten married and hadn’t had anyone at our wedding. This way, at least family members know what we look like now. The inscription on the card was in German: Ein frohes Weihnachtsfest und alles Gute zum neuer Jahr! We took a bunch of pictures out at Burg Nanstein – a castle about 10 minutes up the road from us. This was the 2nd picture of the day and ended up being our favorite.

Merry Christmas

This last photo is the only one I didn’t take. It was taken at B’s handball team’s Christmas party. Our friend Wonderwoman took the photo for us. It’s definitely one of my favorites of this last year.

All of the photos that were under consideration for making this post involve both B and myself. I am happiest and most myself when I am with him. He makes me stronger, happier, and more beautiful. He is the cause behind the light in my eyes and the lift in my smile. He is my rock and my foundation – stalwart and strong to lift me to greatness I never imagined. Greatness that lies within me and concerns my capacity to love and be loved.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Reverb10 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Thousand Words

  1. Stereo says:

    You guys are a truly beautiful couple. Merry Christmas ♥

  2. Shiny says:

    I love the first photo, you can really tell how cold it was!!!!
    Love you, Miss you!
    <3,
    M

  3. Sunny says:

    Merry late Christmas!
    (love the first photo, too–theres something about B’s expression!)

  4. Karie says:

    The Christmas card picture is so beautiful! Glad I got to see you, glad y’all made it back safe!

Leave a Reply

