My new name

My first name is not super popular. It never gets above the top 300. There is a reality celeb running amok with my name right now and I wish she would just stop. But I love my name.

All of us kids have special names from my parents – my brother is a 4th so his name comes down with the history of a long-passed on family name. My sister is named after one of my mom’s friends from highschool’s daughter. Did you follow that? Yeah, I really don’t either – but needless to say her name doesn’t even get ranked it’s so rare. There are pretty popular twists on it, but not her name exactly. And then there’s my name. I’m not named for anyone specifically. Mom actually thought she made my name up while watching the 1985 Superbowl. She was 3-4 months pregnant with me at the time (yeah, I just revealed my age) and was playing with last names of the different players. She came up with my name, and the rest is history. I love sports just as much as she does, so I love that my name is a reflection of that.

The name that I am frantically working on changing right now is my last name. I got married in August and we moved to Germany in September which didn’t leave a lot of time to legally change my last name. But my passport expires in 6 months and if I’m going to get a new one, then I want it to have my new last name. I adore my new last name. It’s in the first half of the alphabet – so my kid’s won’t be screwed by having a late letter last name like I did as a kid. It is very obviously Irish in origin and it just flows.

I adore my names. They are a part of who I am. I am not a Stacey, Michelle, or Lucy – I am just me. And I wouldn’t change that for anything in the world – not even for a day.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Reverb10 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My new name

  1. Shiny says:

    You do have an incredibly unique and beautiful name… It fits you very well. Like your handwriting – whimsical. :)
    Loved all the family stories.
    Love you, miss you.
    <3,
    M

Leave a Reply

