Try

I hate the word try. It’s up there with tolerance for one of my most hated words. As hokey as it sounds, I really am a do or do not kind of girl. I feel like we only try at things we’ve already determined we won’t do or won’t like. It’s saved for something we expect to find distasteful.

Try a bite, it won’t kill you. Can’t you just try and be nice. Try to let it go. Try. Try. Try. Take a bite, it won’t kill you. Be nice. Let it go. There’s no trying involved. Trying comes in when you don’t actually want to do it but you want to pretend that you do.

I’ve been “trying” to let go of this situation with B’s ex for months now. No wonder it’s still bothering me. For some reason, I don’t want to let it go so I tell myself some bullshit about trying to let it go and continue to wallow in how it makes me feel. It’s not a pretty picture of me, but it is an accurate one of my view of the word try.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Reverb10 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Try

  1. Shiny says:

    No more bull crap, no more trying. I don’t think I’ve ever seen someone try so hard… The question is, what action will you take because not doing seems to have set sail…
    I love you, I miss you.
    P.S. Tolerance is also in my top 5 all time hated words. Mostly because of the atrocious, outrageous hypocrisy that comes hand in hand with it these days.
    <3,
    M

  2. Stereo says:

    I agree. Wholeheartedly.

  3. emjaye says:

    Agreed. “Try” is lame! I never thought of tolerance as a “bad” word too, but that’s a good point you make.

Leave a Reply

