Lights, Camera, Action!

Taking action has never been hard for me. I have a much harder time sitting back and waiting. Patience may be a virtue, but it isn’t my virtue. I’m a woman of action – if I want something then I set the plan in motion to get it. I’m pretty good at following through too. Once I decide on something the action is the easy part. Still, there are definitely things I want to take action on in 2011.

Photography – B gave me an awesome (and I do mean awesome) new camera for Christmas. It’s all shiny and takes fabulous photos. It’s also really easy to use. I’ve developed a minor interest in photography. I know that I’ll never be a professional or even a pro-am qualifier, but, I want my vacation photos to be more than just the typical touristy snapshots. My plan to put this in to action is to start by taking lots of pictures. I know that the more that I take the more likely I am to get the fun and unique shots that I’m looking for.

Travel – Yeah, I mean, I’m only living in Germany, with all kinds of travel opportunities in front of me. We have a goal of taking overnight trips every break in games played. We’re on hold for putting some of the plans into action until 23 Dec. That’s when we find out if we have another year of this awesome program or not. If not, then our travel will be a bit more limited. Still, my way to put this in action is to prioritize the places I want to visit and keep an eye out for deals on traveling and staying there as well as what I want to see at each location. That way when we get the green light to go somewhere it’s already planned and we can just go.

Writing – Reverb 10 has been my first foray into scheduled posting every day. I really like it. B knows that I have to get this blog updated and keep our family one current as part of my daily/weekly schedule. It’s awesome to have made it a priority and I want to keep it that way in 2011. Even if I don’t post every day, I want to write everyday. Be it here, or over at LEA, or on one of the stories that I’m working on. My action for this is to maintain the time I have set aside to write every day. Luckily for me, B is also a writer, so he understands needing to write.

Scrapbooking – One of my cousin’s started a scrapbook for me for my last birthday. She did it when I mentioned not having a leatherbound copy of my thesis and she decided to make me a leather bound manifesto of my life. I bought pages to add to it and then moved twice. I also got married in that time, but, now I have lots of good pictures and mementos to put in it too. Just like writing, I plan on setting aside time weekly to work on this. Most of my time is going to be gleaned by going online less.

Staying in touch – At the same time that I cut back my meaningless web-browsing, I want to build up meaningful connections. I’m going to start setting and keeping Skype dates with friends and family back in the States. Whether we video call, regular call, or just chat, I want to have more conversations with friends and family back home.

Action, for me, is the fun part. It’s the time when everything falls into place or goes awry. It’s the time when things happen. It’s my favorite part of plans.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Reverb10 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lights, Camera, Action!

  1. Shiny says:

    I’m so glad you’re getting into photography – I told you you had a great eye for it!!! :) I also like all the artistic endeavors – can’t wait to see the whimsical-ness that I miss so much. <3

    • You did, I remember when I took the pics of the MLC kids. Only now I actually have a good camera for it.

      And there’s so much happening in my life right now that I don’t want to let any of it slip away unnoticed, which means I’d better get better at chronicling it all down.

  2. Becs says:

    I adore photography. The more you learn, the more you fall in love. There are so many great resources out there like Digital Photography School and Shutter Sisters for inspiration and instruction. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

