Connected

Today’s Reverb 10 prompt is supposed to be about when I felt the greatest connection or unity between my mind and body. Honestly, I don’t ever feel disconnected between the two. I’m a professional musician, so my job is to link mind and body. I don’t think of myself as distinct units inhabiting the same spacial displacement. I am not a mind, a soul, and a body. I cannot be divided into equal parts made up of the intellectual, physical, and spiritual. All three are combined and irrevocably linked to make me. My semi-clutzy ways are as much me as my mental acuity or my spiritual sensitivities. I can’t break myself down into separate pieces.

Which makes it hard for me to write about when I felt most connected. Because I never feel disconnected. At least, not within me. Outside of me, yes, I often feel more disconnected than I do connected. I think that’s part of why I blog, I’m searching for a connection somewhere with someone. Now, I have a great connection with my husband and he’s definitely my rock, my grounding force. But, I still crave connections with other people. Friends, family, and sometimes even strangers. I have an intense desire to know that I am connected. I’m definitely not an island. Which, is a huge part of why I blog – to connect with others in as many ways as I possibly can.

Since I started this blog I’ve reached out and met foster mom’s, other twenty-somethings, survivors, and just all around cool people. They’ve been some of my biggest supporters since I’ve moved. It’s not weird for them to not be able to call or see me, because they always contact me via the internet. And they’re always around to gift the right words to lift my spirits and help me carry on. Just like I try to be there for them.

Connections are waiting all around us to be made. The real question is if we are willing to open our eyes to them and be ready to embrace them when they happen.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Reverb10 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Connected

  1. Aba says:

    Surprisingly, you’re the first other person I’ve seen say that they always feel connected. Glad to know I’m not completely alone in thinking that way!

    Blogging really is a wonderful way to reach out to new people. I really have the internet to thank for helping me through my teenage years (I’m 24 now) because the people I connected with were very valuable emotional support. I could reach out to them when I couldn’t find anyone physically near to connect with.

    • I’m glad to know I’m not the only other person out there who doesn’t feel disconnected. The question was really strange to me because of that.

      I’ve definitely found that since I’ve gotten married and moved twice since July that my blog friends on the internet have been some of the best at being there for me. And there are very few people for me to reach out to where we live right now, so, it’s awesome to have support that isn’t wavering due to not being able to communicate face to face.

  2. Shiny says:

    I am so thankful for the opportunity to reconnect. Love you.
    M

Leave a Reply

