Writing

It took me to all of day 2 to skip a prompt from Reverb 10. I was incredibly disappointed in the second day’s prompt. Here I’ve been getting excited about looking back at what did and didn’t go well in 2010 in order to help myself to a better 2011 and right on the second day we get a technical writing exercise. “What in your life doesn’t contribute to writing and can you eliminate it” sounds more like something I would expect from a teacher in a writing class than a month long exercise in reflection.

Many bloggers are not professional writers, we don’t get paid to write. We write for a variety of reasons – to blow off steam, to educate ourselves and others, to keep in touch with people – but does that mean we really need to search our lives to find out what doesn’t contribute to our writing? Brushing my teeth doesn’t contribute to my blogging, but I’m certainly not going to eliminate it. I blog and write when I’m inspired to and don’t when I’m not. Very little external forces have any sway over my decision to write or the actualy execution of the activity. Now that I’m married, I do a lot of my blogging while my husband is in the same room playing video games. When I worked on my thesis and other collegiate papers I often did so while carrying on conversations or watching tv. I’m a multi-tasker, so a quiet environment often hinders my writing more than it helps it.

All that said, I write because I want to. I have this blog which is my venting journal. I have to be careful to find the balance and make sure that people know that I’m not always upset, I just come here to write out the things that I don’t have anyone to talk about them with. I live in a foreign country with no close girl friends and I’m a newlywed. So there are things that I have to get out of me but don’t need to dump on my husband, hence my blog. I have another blog where I keep family updated-ish in our comings and goings here in Germany. It’s primarily a happy blog talking about the fun places we visit.

I’m not writing either of these because I’m hoping to become famous or get a book deal or land paid writing gigs. I’m writing because I want to. Because I do find writing to be a great outlet for me and it makes me happy. I like making friends with other bloggers and interacting with people because of things I write.

I know there are those who say that because I feel the need to address this prompt that this proves the prompt to be a good one. I disagree. I already knew why I wrote. I didn’t need to analyze that to manifest towards next year. Also, that wasn’t really what the prompt was about. It’s a great technical writing exercise, but that’s not what I signed up to Reverb 10 for. I’ve liked days one and three, but now I’m apprehensive instead of excited when I open my Reverb 10 emails. I hope they stick with more reflective topics for the rest of the prompts. Too many more technical exercises and I’ll probably bail on the whole project. Stick to what was advertised and promised. We’ll all be happier that way.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Reverb10 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing

  1. emjaye says:

    That’s how I felt when I read the prompt too!

Leave a Reply

