It’s okay

It’s okay to be sad.

There, I said it. Waited 60 seconds and guess what? Nothing bad happened. It really is okay to not be happy all the time. It’s okay to be down sometimes. It’s okay to be anxious about life, relationships, the future. It’s okay to watch sappy movies and cry over them.

Okay, before someone comes along and starts thinking I’m saying that they should be tissue carrying, issue wrestling, depressed for lifers…that’s not it at all. But life isn’t all roses. It isn’t a fairy tale no matter how badly Taylor Swift and the rest of us want it to be. Life is a roller coaster. It has crazy highs and crazy lows and the only way to get between them is a long arduous climb to the top and the free falling plummet to the bottom.

My Mom would say that if we only ever lived on the mountain peaks of life we wouldn’t grow as people. Because nothing grows and thrives on mountain peaks. All the vital growing is done in the valleys. And it’s tough, because, the view from the top is exquisite. It’s bold and conquering and fun. And the valley is…not so grand. It’s mundane. And full of painful work and growing.

I’ve been struggling with being sad since B and I moved to Germany. Heck, actually since I moved away from Texas. I’m finally fighting my way up and away from that, but, it’s a slow climb. Instead of tears every day they’re every other day now. But, at least they’re going away. And, I’m finally starting to be okay with being sad. Which is letting me grieve the loss of moving away from everything I’ve ever known. By grieving it, I’m letting go of it. By letting go of it, I’m finding myself able to generally be happy again. The underlying sadness is dying because I’m embracing it rather than denying it.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s okay

  1. emjaye says:

    I’ve been watching sappy movies all weekend because I agree, it totally is okay to be sad.

    Moms from Texas always have wonderful advice, like these gems from my favorite sappy movie, Hope Floats.

    “Crying over it won’t make it clean, life goes on and you’ve gotta move along with it.”

    “Beginnings are scary, endings are usually sad, but it’s the middle that counts the most. You need to remember that when you find yourself at the beginning. Just give hope a chance to float up…and it will too.”

  2. whiteeecrow says:

    Yeah, you are right, it’s completely okay to be sad, especially when you are doing so big step as moving far away from home. Amazing thing is that human nature is flexible and our mind adapts to changes quite quick. You are doing very wise thing by embracing it, time will help. It always does.
    What I love about moving, that you are starting new life, you can be whoever you want. New society, new people, new friends, no baggage, no templates of who you are. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

