Why I love Germany

1. I am here with B.

2. He’s doing something he loves, has great hours, and cannot get deployed.

3. I get a lot of quality time with B.

4. I’m building my own studio, independent of anyone I’ve ever known and proving to myself I have what it takes to do this without help.

5. The leaves are changing color. I never got to really experience this growing up in Texas. It’s overwhelmingly beautiful.

6. There are haunted castles within driving distance.

7. Heck, there are castles in driving distance.

8. The travel opportunities. I’m only a few hours from Paris; Bruges, Belgium, and Switzerland. I’m just a bit further away from Rome, London, and Ireland.

9. The cultural opportunities. We’re living “in the economy” (though thankfully not on it as we can buy everything up on base) but we’re getting to really experience what living in another country is like.

10. Setting up house with B far from either of our families. There’s no pressure about where we’re going for holidays or who we visit more. It’s sink or swim with me cooking and running our household. But, there’s no one to judge when we bail on healthy eating and hit up Chili’s instead.

11. It takes all the pressure off of football, baseball, and basketball season. I go to bed, the games are played, and the results are up in the morning. No more stressing my way through games. And if I watch the reruns, at least I know how it ends.

12. The Autobahn. It’s a bit scary at first and the construction around here is annoying. But, overall it’s awesome being able to drive whatever speed I want.

13. The community. Let’s face it. We’re here with a bunch of Americans cut off from their normal support group. So, maybe we become friends with people we’d have never considered earlier.

14. Co-hostessing my first Thanksgiving Dinner. Yep, it’s happening with the other WCAP wife. We’ll have all the American handballers come down for a dinner. I’m really excited.

15. The scenery. It’s like the Texas hill country on steroids. Lots of trees and hills. I’m in love.

16. The weather. Yep, it’s colder. I kind of like that. And, it’s not as cold as Minot. Even the snow is supposed to be mild here, so, maybe I can learn how to survive this.

17. The food. There is such a huge variety in ethnic foods around here. Lots of Greek, Turkish, and Chinese. Plenty of Italian with some English and German thrown right in. We have plans with the other WCAP couple (yeah, they need names) to hit up all the Chinese places around.

18. The German Wine Country. It’s a half hour from here. We haven’t gone to any wine tastings yet, but, I fully plan on it. Yummy!

19. My apartment. It is big and spacious. I have major plans for it once I get my furniture and paintings. And I have a big balcony. I have lots of plans to host parties once I have the furnishings to do so. (Okay, and the friends)

20. Getting packages. We both take so much delight in checking our mail. We might be guilty of ordering things just so we can have mail. It’s so much fun to go in and get a surprise package/letter/card from someone back home.

I’m adjusting. And I’m determined to focus on the positive. This is a great place. Living here for the next three years is going to be an adventure. I know it’ll have it’s ups and downs, but, I’m determined to focus on the ups. Not the downs.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Germany, Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

