Struggle

The ups and downs of being over here are really starting to get me down. The lack of communication with back home, no friends, no Whataburger, and limited retail therapy is all piling up like the straw that broke the camel’s back. And yet, I feel horrible complaining.

I’m living in Germany, it’s cool, exciting awesome, and fun. My husband is in a support position with the USAF and as a WCAP member I don’t have to worry about him deploying until this program ends. We have an awesome apartment that is completely paid for by the USAF, in addition, we get to keep whatever we don’t use on our utility payments. I have a job teaching piano for a ballet studio. B and I’s schedules are awesome. We work afternoons and early evenings. Which means we always get to stay up late and sleep in.

But I miss home. I miss being able to go to the mall and shop for clothes. The BX is like a crappy Walmart with worse size selection. (Seriously, they had one style of sports bras that weren’t available in XXL and up only) I miss being able to go to Whataburger, Dairy Queen, Quiznos, Arby’s, Red Lobster, Cheddar’s, etc. I miss being able to get together with my girls one night a week just to sit and talk. I miss seeing movies with friends. I miss game nights, bowling, shooting, and pool with friends. I miss my church.

It’s hard, because I hate complaining. Again, see above. But I feel so isolated. So alone. Life is a struggle. But it’s worth it.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Germany, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Struggle

  1. Megan says:

    Sorry it’s tough girl. Back in the States, we are very grateful for B’s service and the sacrifices you make to be a supportive wife. I hope you find happiness in little things to ease the big things you have to miss!

Leave a Reply

