Shopping Woes

B and I went shopping today up at the BX (Base Exchange). It’s our only place to go shopping. It’s kind of like a mall – there’s a food court with a Johnny Rocket’s, Subway, Taco Bell, Charlie’s Subs, Chinese, Seafood, Pizza, Hot Dogs, and Baskin Robbins – but, the only place to get clothes there beside the mall kiosks is the BX. B needed exercise shirts (and shorts actually, but he ignored my suggestion to get them because he had plenty, a fact he rued tonight when leaving for practice (I have mentioned that B is now a professional athlete training for the Olympics, right)) and I needed socks and a sports bra.

I’m incredibly leery of bra shopping. It has never been easy. Very few of Victoria’s Secret bras are made in my size. None in the Vanity line are. Back in the US, I had to go to Dillard’s or Macy’s to find bras. Wondering my size? I’m a 32D. In shape, decently but not extremely endowed, and often in tears. My options are either very basic, ugly grandma bras or really expensive, fancy bras. Very little middle ground. It drives me nuts. I work to stay in shape and look cute and I’m rewarded by having to either pay more for bras or wear ugly ones. Not cool.

With this slightly fearful mindset, I wandered into the bra section of the BX. There was one rack of ‘regular’ sports bras, ie, not Nike, UnderArmour or other expensive brands. I was delighted to see some cheap options (10$) that were actually well constructed. Only to realize that all of the sizes were 42 and larger. No joke. I wandered around to the next arm of the stand. There I spied one row of sports bras that were really low quality, like, my 5 dollar cami’s with shelf bra from New York and Company have better support. These bras were 20 bucks and in my size. But, I refuse to buy a low quality product just because it’s in my size (caveat: if it had been ten dollars I’d have probably bought it, but not at 20). Finally, I spy a bright pink sports bra that is in my size and well made. The catch? It was 30 buckaroos. Now, I can go online to Target or Old Navy and find the same quality sports bra for 15. So, why, at my size does AAFES (Army Air Force Exchange Services) require me to pay so much more? It’s an outrage. They had plenty of sports bras in 4X for ten dollars, but, nothing good for a decent price in a small or medium? Really? It’s just ridiculous.

Don’t even get me started on where they had the socks located in the store. (Hint: It was with the make-up, again, not joking) I guess I can buy them online, but, that involves shipping to an APO, which isn’t cheap when ordering online. B’s comment was that he’d gladly pay the extra money as ‘punishment’ for having an in-shape wife. I just want some amount of equity. Can we quit pandering to the obese and make quality products for working out for those of us who actually do it? Or, am I just being unreasonable here?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Germany, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shopping Woes

  1. Megan says:

    I’m so right there with you…well, but on the other side of the whole bra issue. Shopping for bras leaves me so frustrated because nothing is small enough for me. My little girls don’t even fill the cups of a lot of As. (Seriously, girl, Ds?! Damn! Share the wealth!)

    But, I have the same issues you do when it comes to buying clothes. Retailers have such a small selection for small sizes. If there’s a sale – forget it!

Leave a Reply

