Ramstein Farmer’s Market

Yesterday was Ramstein’s regional Farmer’s Market. I’ll go ahead and say that I was the fool who didn’t take her camera. I thought this would be like the farmer’s market back in Houston, two or three rows of booths with over priced vegetables and fruit. Yeah, I was really wrong. Next German street festival we go to, I’ll definitely have my camera. Regardless, some of what they had there was just too amazing for me to not share.

The Market was held downtown in among all the shops in the shopping district. The road here is cobblestone and faded brick. Combine that with the old-world buildings and the atmosphere was perfect. The day was crisp, with bright sunshine and cool breezes – possibly the best of what an October day should be. Pretty much all of the shops were open with their sales spilling onto the sidewalk. There were food booths and tents, beer tents (the beer was served in glass mugs), fruit and vegetable stands, handcrafts, animals, you name it and it was there. From the tourist type knick-knacks to the everyday useful, they had it all at this little festival. People were milling around speaking a variety of languages. The cultural atmosphere was one to just soak in.

My highlights:

1. The Apfel Saft (Apple Cider)

In the middle of all the bustle stood a long stone trough with a stone wheel and a big, thick log as an axle sticking well out on both sides. It was filled with apples and then the men rolled it back and forth, crushing the apples into pulp. The pulp was gathered in buckets and transferred to an old, stone press where it was stacked with wood boards and then squished to yield fresh apple cider. Which they then sold to the awed crowd. That was the best apple anything that I have ever had. It was crisp, tart, and sweet all at once. B and I agreed that it was our favorite thing of the day.

2. Wild Boar Bratwurst

This was the food item that begged us the most to try it. We gave in like little children and happily asked for, “Zwei bratwurst mitt brochen, bitte,” and waited to be handed our long bratwurst with it’s miniature bun. That was our first complaint about it. The bread covered about a quarter of the sausage. And it had a tough crust. As far as the flavor of the sausage – it was leaner and drier, but otherwise not that different from regular bratwurst. Now, I’m sure that this is quite good for you, but, I like my bratwurst juicy. Still, the beer mustard that went with it and the flavor of the sausage itself was quite good.

3. Perhaps this is something that would awe only me, but, they had a booth set up selling handmade bobbin lace pieces. They had bracelets, earrings, necklaces and so much more. I was in complete awe. I have been making lace for some 13 years now and so I was enthralled. Unfortunately the craftswoman was away from the tent when we stopped by and didn’t have a website. I’ll definitely be looking for her at future festivals and hoping that she speaks English.

In all, the German’s know how to throw a good street festival. Even just a farmer’s market on a Sunday afternoon in October.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Food, Germany, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

