Wilkommen nach Deutschland

We have an apartment! It’s in an adorable house on Balthasar Strasse in Ramstein, Germany.

We’re in the lighter colored building, the top row of windows. It’s 1300 square feet with two bedrooms. The bathroom is two separate rooms. One for the toilet:

And one for the shower and tub, which are separate:

There are two spacious bedrooms:

The master (above) is actually bigger than it looks. I cut half of it out of the picture. It has more than enough room for our bed and dressers. Not to mention the wardrobes that are necessary since there are no closets in Germany. The guest bedroom (below) is where we’ll put our books, instruments, my crafts, and of course, our guests when they come.

A cute little kitchen contains a mini fridge that evidently passes for a standard fridge in Germany. Luckily the base will loan us a full size fridge for the duration of our stay here. I don’t have a ton of counter space, but that’s okay because I have great views. Plus, I have to use a transformer for my appliances anyway, so I can only use two at a time at max. Which means I actually have plenty of counter space.

Since I ‘m pretty sure that I’ll get questions about it – the door is mostly coverd in a dark metal material – these are rolladens. They’re a nifty built in shade that cover all of the windows and glass doors in houses in Germany. They’re built into the wall and can be lowered to full or partial blackout. They use them to regulate temperature as well as light. B is thrilled because we can get the living room theater dark for the tv. The next pic is of my German style fridge. And yes, that tiny little top portion is a freezer. No wonder German’s shop in amounts typically less than 1/4 pound for food. Crazy.

They living/dining room is huge. Like, we’re fairly sure we could have fit our entire Minot apartment into that area. The hutch belongs to the owners, but, we’ll be using it for dish storage to help supplement the kitchen cabinets. We don’t have a ton of things, but, I will never turn down storage. We are going to slide it down though so that it is all the way in the dining room.

About the only thing that doesn’t thrill me about this is the carpet in the dining room. And yes, since you asked, those are double doors leading onto a balcony.

I’m thinking it’s big enough for a small grill, but, we’ll see what our landlady has to say about that. It does’ run the full width of the kitchen and dining room with entries into both. We also have some great views off of it.

So out the back we have a view of the German country side. And come mid-month we should have some pretty changing leaves. Out the front we get the view of the cute German street we live on.

So, a beautiful apartment that is quite the steal. We were lucky to get it. We viewed it last Saturday and then called and asked them to hold it for us until Thursday when B would be back to sign the contract. They did and boy am I glad. She said they received a lot of calls about the place, so, I know it would have been gone if we had waited. I’m excited for our loaner furniture to come in two weeks and hopefully our own belongings within a month after that so that I can make this place home.

This is where B and I will get to learn to be newlyweds. A lot of our firsts will happen in this apartment. I cannot wait to fill it with our memories!

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Family, Germany, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

