Ich hat fliegen nach Deustchland

I’m in Germany. We’ve been here since noon on Wednesday and it’s been a crazy couple of days. As I’m sitting here on a fine Sunday morning (and by fine I mean cold and damp) curled up in bed, my darling husband is playing games on his computer. I’m unwilling to break the reverie. He’s waiting on internet. It’s hard to get onto here in Germany. We’re supposed to be biking up to base in a bit, but, that’s getting ahead of myself. Let’s go back to Wednesday shall we:

First off, the flight. Ridiculously long. Now, at least we had plenty of room and could sleep. Sleeping was actually the goal. I had a hard time falling asleep, but did manage. Only to be awoken by a flight attendant when they served dinner. I know, how nice of them to wake me up to give me food, right? Only not. They woke me up to tell me I needed to set my seat up because the guy behind me felt cramped with his tray table down. No, I’m not joking. There was no offer of food. I was more than a little ticked off. But, I managed to get back to sleep again eventually.

Landing in Germany was painless and getting through customs was as easy as showing our military id’s and orders. No bags checked. No questions asked. Then began the wait in line to get the piece of paper that said there was no room in the inn. We took a taxi to our hotel. The hotel is cute. Tiled floors, funky doors, funky light switches. Big windows. And, two twin beds shoved next to each other to make the “double/queen” that we wanted. And, the sheets/covers here? They have what looks like a mattress pad covering on the bed and then another thing that looks kind of like a sleeping bag on top of it. You sleep under the sleeping bag thing. It’s definitely different. We’ve managed by moving the beds up against a wall and shoving them together, holding them that way with the other furniture and our bags and shoving one of our blanket pads into the crack between the two beds. This mostly works for letting us sleep together.

The rest of Wednesday was spent running around getting B checked in on base. A few boring meetings here and dinner there and we crashed – dead tired into bed. Thursday began with us waking up at some 3 in the morning and both being wide awake. We cuddled in bed until sometime after 4 when we went back to bed until seven. Hello jetlag. Thursday was more meetings. I got our driver’s tests set up for 7 October, which is the earliest they could get us in. And we went to a housing meeting, where the no room in the inn story continued. Supposedly it would take them 2-4 months to get us into on base housing, but, the people on the list in front of us have been on it for a really long time. It’s kind of crazy actually. And we’ve been told that the housing market is ridiculously difficult to find a good place.

We also got the news that B has to be back in the states this next week. He leaves tomorrow and then will be back in the morning on Thursday. I’m not thrilled about this. Actually, that’s an understatement. I’m quite a bit upset about it. I don’t  want to be left in a foreign country, by myself, with no real means of transportation. Cause, we can’t rent a car because we don’t have driver’s licenses. So we’ve been walking everywhere. We bought bikes, but, I’m definitely not used to riding.

The good news is that we’ve already managed to find an apartment. They’ve agreed to hold it for us until he gets back on Thursday, since I can’t sign the contract. It has to be in his name because he’s the military member. Still, that’s a huge relief to me that I don’t have to try and find a house for us while he’s gone. Now my only order of business is to find a job. But, they do all of that online. Totally drives me nuts. At the very least, there’s a job fair next Friday and I can try going to that.

I’ll try and get back to regular updates, but, no promises. Life is crazy here in Deustchland.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

