Baja Chicken My Way

I think that Quizno’s Baja chicken sandwhich might be my favorite fast food entree right now. I mean, cheesy sub bread, chipotle mayo, BBQ sauce, chicken, bacon, and cheddar cheese all toasted to perfection. Just typing that made my mouth water. Quizno’s is always on top of my choices for places for B and I to grab a bite. (Not a lot of options for us here in town)

But, we’re trying to cut back the eating out, which isn’t going so well, but when we move to Germany it’ll happen by default. We’re both cheapskates (I mean that in a good way) and it’s way more expensive to eat out in Germany. Not to mention they don’t have a Quizno’s.

Which led us to last night’s experiment. B had put me in charge of picking dinner and I wanted us to eat in. We have a lot of food in the freezer and it needs to be gone by Friday. Because that’s when all our dishes, pots, and pans get shipped to Germany to hopefully meet us there.

We had frozen chicken breasts, bacon, cheesy rolls, and the condiments. And the verdict was that my version was yummier than theirs. And way cheaper. Between the two sandwhiches we used:
4 frozen chicken breast tenders (.15 each)
3 slices of bacon (.20 each)
4 slices of cheese (.15 each)
2 cheesy buns (.75 each)
Chipotle mayo
BBQ sauce

That’s 3.20 total. Or 1.60 a sandwhich. Same thing at Quizno’s is over 5 for the small. We’re thrilled because that’s more incentive to eat in. Which I need more of. I tend to eat out for comfort. But, the more reasons I can stack in the favor of staying in, the better.

Prep time for all of it was 15 minutes. We put the chicken frozen straight onto the George Foreman grill and set it for 12 minutes. While that was cooking we sliced the bacon up and fried it (bacon bits could be substituted here). Then we prepped the buns by slicing them lengthwise and placing cheese on both sides. I put my condiments on then, B waited until post toasting. Once the chicken is cooked, dice it and toss it on the buns with the bacon. Toast in a toaster oven until the cheese melts and enjoy. Truly an awesome sandwhich. Even better at home.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

