Just a joke

Last year when I was living with Sunny in SA a joke got started. It was born out of my being tired of family members asking me if there was anyone special in my life or when I was going to get married. My retaliation to my family members was to ask when they were having kids. (These family members were primarily my own age and married) I only did that to show them how annoying the question could be.

So Sunny and her twin Shiny and their husbands all started telling me that I’d be married by Christmas. Of course I returned their “blessing” with one of my own. That they’d all have another child (Shiny and her husband’s first) by Christmas too. The closer we got to Christmas without my being in a relationship the more the joke was tossed out there. Only now it was primarily between Shiny and I, seeing as we worked together. I would tell her she was having twins, triplets, quads, etc and she and her husband would ask why they hadn’t met the guy I was marrying in a month or so.

When I met B right after Thanksgiving the joke kind of died away. And Christmas came and went. Then of course, as my relationship started progressing with B it started right back up again after work picked back up in January. We teased back in forth about my now getting married by this Christmas (note, this was a joke, none of us actually thought that would happen) and that they’d have their first kid by Christmas.

Here I am married and we’ve still got four months to Christmas. Funnily enough, Shiny has about that many months left in her pregnancy. They’re due Dec 19th. I guess the joke is on us, but, at least we’ll be laughing with our newly enlarged families when this Christmas rolls around.

~The Countess~

PS I have also solemnly sworn to never ask you when you are getting married. Or if there is “someone special” in your life. If you want me to know, you’ll tell me. But that question drove me insane when I was single and I will never inflict it on anyone.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just a joke

  1. myobi says:

    lololol. KARMA! BITING BOTH OF YOU! SIMULTANEOUSLY.

    Karma has many mouths O_o

  2. Hahaha, but we’re both very happy about karma getting us both at once. Hmm…that sounds vaguely dirty…

  3. Meg says:

    Agreed! That is the worst question! I thought it was bad when I was graduating college and everyone constantly asked what my plans were because I didn’t really have any, but I found some and now they all want to know if I’m dating and who I’m dating and when I’m getting married. Thanks for the tip on how to deal with it!

Leave a Reply

