New Reality

Hello new reality,

How are you doing? You seem quite strange to me. I know that I’m going to like you, but, really, how did you manage to sneak up on me so fast? I mean, this is something I’ve looked forward to my whole life, so I’m thrilled that it’s here, but, I expected more time for expectations and all that before it just was upon me. I thought there would be more trials before I made it here. I also thought there’d be more hoopla and ceremony. Of course, I don’t mind that we forewent all of that, but, it just makes it harder to believe in you.

I get a start everytime I see the rings. Everytime we use those terms to reference each other, which, believe you me, we do a lot. I think we get a huge thrill and kick out of doing that to ourselves and each other. It’s like, what did he just call me? Oh yeah, that’s right, I am.

The amount of paperwork required to enter this new reality is astounding. Do you think that maybe, just maybe, it’s a little unneccesary? I sure can tell that he works for the government. All the redtape. All the craziness. I mean, I had to go to the dentist to get my teeth rated so that I can travel with him, does it get crazier than that? Are they going to want to check the condition of my ova before we’re allowed to procreate? But still, the paperwork, hoops, and redtape are unable to tarnish the fun that is this new reality.

We’re determined that not much will change, he and I. We know too many people who’ve entered this reality and then changed how they treated each other and found themselves abandoned in a much harsher, newer reality that isn’t as fun as this one. I’m still going to be me – mischevious, crazy, impulsive, and indecisive about activities. I expect him to stay him too.

People (mainly his brothers) ask us if we feel different here. The truth is that we don’t. We’re still ourselves. Nothing between us has changed. We still love each other. We’re still crazy about each other. Can’t keep our hands off of each other. We’re determined now more than ever that this is forever. And forever no longer scares us, because we have each other, here, in this new reality.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

