Family

I love my family. We are quirky. We are strange. (Come on, Myobi, you know it’s true.) We defy conventions. Quite happily too. 

I’ve had friends say that I actually make sense after meeting my parents. My dad was a Sgt in the Marine Corps and my mom was a flower child. (See defied conventions) Mom always said she was going to raise us to be too conservative for the liberals and too liberal for the conservatives without letting us just be moderate. It worked. We all have our conservative sides and our liberal sides. Some of us are more so than others in certain ways. But we all get along (shockingly really) and we complement each other in our craziness.

Naturally, with such an awesome family, I’ve always been a bit leery over the family I would one day (hopefully) marry into. I’ll go ahead and confess that I sort of hoped that my Mr. Right would be an only child or that he wouldn’t be super close to his family (yeah, I know, it was horrid of me, but I was all of like 15 when I had these thoughts) so that we could be close to my family without any problems. Because I couldn’t imagine not being with my family for holidays.

Besides, everyone always says in-laws like they actually mean out-laws. All you ever hear about is the over-bearing mother-in-law. (Whether it’s his or hers I think depends on who is doing the telling, because all mother’s can be over-bearing. It’s only insupportable when it isn’t your own mother doing it.) And, I’ve witnessed my share of in-law disasters and nightmares with friends and family. Naturally, I was a bit afraid of what my in-laws might be like and often found it easier to just day dream them away. Even in my dreams I didn’t care to be a martyr. No family for him was easier than family that might not like me.

Of course, life rarely works out the way we want it to, and thank goodness for that. B is one of 4 just like I am. He’s the second child with an older sister and twin younger brothers. And I’m somewhat surprised to find that I like his family too. (Not just saying this, I actually do really get along with his family) I’m sure I’m not exactly what they were expecting the oldest son to bring home to marry, but, his mom has stated many times that she likes me and thinks I’m good for him. (If only she knew…)

Now, I’m so excited about the family that I’ll be gaining. I always did want more brothers. And I guess technically his big sister is younger than me…so I finally get to have a little sister after having been the youngest sister (I do have a younger brother too) my whole life. His family is also quirky and fun. They defy conventions too.

Of course, we’re kind of solving the whole “where to spend the holidays” issue (I’ve heard that this can actually cause real problems within families, thank God we’re military and won’t always have time to be off) by moving to Germany. We’ll be “stuck” over there.

Still, I’m excited about creating my own family from the two wonderful families that claim us both.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Family

  1. Megan says:

    That’s awesome that you have two wonderful families to belong to! I dated a guy who wasn’t close to his family (like you had wished for) and he couldn’t understand my ties to mine. You’re very lucky!

  2. Yeah, that’s why I’m greatful that I didn’t get everything I wished for as a kid.

    I am incredibly lucky and so very happy about it all right now.

Leave a Reply

