Quitting Christianity

Anne Rice has today announced that she is quitting Christianity:

“My faith in Christ is central to my life. My conversion from a pessimistic atheist lost in a world I didn’t understand, to an optimistic believer in a universe created and sustained by a loving God is crucial to me,” Rice wrote. “But following Christ does not mean following His followers. Christ is infinitely more important than Christianity and always will be, no matter what Christianity is, has been or might become.”

Which put me in mind of this:

“I like your Christ, I do not like your Christians. Your Christians are so unlike your Christ.” Mahatma Gandhi

Things haven’t changed. And sometimes  I’m afraid they never will. On CNN’s website the comments on the article about Anne Rice are heated as people commend her, abjure her, and otherwise express their views. I for one, happen to sympathize with Ms. Rice. So do many of my friends. We’re tired of the falseness of the church. We’re tired of being told that being Christian means a very limited and narrow thing.

Being a Christian is about being a follower of Christ. Not a follower of his followers…though that would make you a good Catholic. All jokes aside, this is hitting an issue that the church is going to have to open its eyes about. The church has fallen, quite clasically, into the roll of the Pharisees. There are all these rules, you see, and they must be followed, and only by following them will you be happy, fulfilled, and Christian…

The Pharisees certainly thought they were right in their time. They were the religious right. They upheld all the rules, followed the laws, they were the good  guys. And they were the ones that Christ called a brood of vipers. (Matthew 12:34) In Matthew 23, he is constantly calling woe to those upholding the strictest laws. Because they have forgotten mercy, justice, and faithfulness. That certainly sounds like today’s church. We have come full circle. We are the enemy. We are the ones crucifying the strange man, with ridiculous claims and hard teachings. We are the ones judging the company he keeps…tax collectors, the demon possessed, prostitutes, homosexuals, fallen sinners. The church has prided itself on becoming a museum for saints when all along it was meant as a hospital for sinners.

All in all though, the commentors are right, Ms. Rice is not so much quitting Christianity as she is quitting the church. And yet, I fully sympathize and empathize with that decision. My faith in God and in Christ defines me. Rules from the church do not. Because, rules were never meant to get us into heaven. They were meant to show us that we could not do it on our own. Grace. Such a hard thing. Such a wonderous thing.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quitting Christianity

  1. Nancy says:

    I agree – it’s sad that there are a lot of churches where people don’t seem to know how to extend grace to one another. I hope you find one in ND where people do. Good luck. :)

    • Thanks Nancy! I’m going to try going to the church that some of our friends go to and start from there. I’d also like to find an evening service, seeing as how crazy our schedules are.

  2. caia2010 says:

    I hope you find this good.

    Christianity is believing in Christ and the Bible since he through God gave the 10 commandments and the written teachings of the Lord – The Bible.

    As much as I like to have fun and in the past may have sinned a few times. The Bible and it’s readings are the teachings of Christ.

    He sat and was friends with the prostitute but did not advise her that it was OK for her to disrobe with men she was not married to or see naked men.

    Get my point – RE: the strip clubs. I know it is a free country but think about it.

    If you had a daughter would you want her to strip. If you had a son would you want him to strip. What would Christ say or do. I don’t know because I have not been instructed directly by him but have attended church and listened to many gospels. Nothing good comes from something that you would not do yourself or have your children do or your husband do in front of others.

    It is a mouthful and I know you may not like it or think it judgemental. I do not judge, just love a good debate. Be Happy. Peace.

Leave a Reply

