In a Minot state of mind

Well, first off, I made it to ND. It was a crazy trip. Actually, the trip was fairly uneventful. Pulling a trailer was pretty darned easy. Following the maps was really easy. Especially aided by my handy-dandy gps iPhone and google maps combo. Seriously. Best thing ever. I got worried about making the right exit in OKC so up comes my iPhone and up comes the map. I was a happy camper.

What made me a not so happy traveler you ask? Nebraska. I had no signal in Nebraska. Seriously. I’d go a hundred miles without a signal or seeing a town. Or food. And the hotel rates in York, NE are exorbitant and the equivalent of highway robbery. But I survived and went on to find SD equally lacking in cellphone signals, towns, and food. But, the gas there was cool. The mid-grade was 10% ethanol and cheaper than the low grade fuel. Which means I got better fuel and better gas mileage for less money. There’s a combo I will take any day.

ND has been great to me so far. I have a job interview tomorrow. I’m about to set up my book cases and unpack books, which, really are the last of what needs to be unpacked. Which is crazy really. It’s way cooler up here. And surprisingly, I’m not in a cry my eyes out mood even when B. is at work. Which was all of yesterday, all of today, and will be almost all of tomorrow. I mean, I miss everyone. I miss Texas. But, I like it here.

Of course, I did fight tears on leaving. Many props go to Myobi for starting me off laughing instead of sobbing. It was a close call until she stepped in. I would have cried when I said goodbye to Sunny, except that it was 2am and I had to drive home. I let her do the crying instead…

Then nature conspired to work against me when I left Texas. I had no idea that crossing the Red River could be so emotional. It was a good thing that OK had a visitor’s center when they did, that way I could sniffle and not be driving. I thought that would be the worst point for wanting to cry on the trip…until I was in the middle of nowhere KS and God Bless Texas came on the radio. I bawled like a baby. And of course listened to the whole song.

Being here has been amazing. Getting to shop for groceries together, cook dinner and clean the kitchen together. All of those little things that we would have been able to do except for the distance. There is no more distance and that’s awesome.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

